Reading Wrap Ups

OCTOBER WRAP UP

I read everything in the picture below this month: 3 books, 2 manga, and 1 comic. I wish I could’ve read more, but working took up a lot of my time! (You can view the Goodreads pages (opens in new window) by clicking on the title of each book.)

I’m currently on 110 books out of my 120 goal on Goodreads. Fingers crossed I can get through 10 more books before 2016 ends! 

wrap up

October books and ratings below! I’ll start with the novels.

Three Dark Crowns – by Kendaare Blake
The concept was intriguing but I only ended up giving this 3 / 5 stars. I wrote a review with more of my thoughts here.

This Savage Song – by V E Schwab
The concept of this book blew me away and I was glued to the first half of it. Schwab’s books have a pattern of doing this to me, I become COMPLETELY HOOKED but won’t rave about the ending. The same about this book; I adored the characters, the concept of monsters forming due to violent acts, and I adored August and Kate. But the ending seemed to be left… open. I like cliffhanger-smack-you-in-the-face endings. But I’m still definitely intrigued and I plan to continue on!
4.75 / 5 stars

Moon Chosen – by PC Cast
A new YA fantasy from the author of the Marked series. I loved Marked when I was 14 and Moon Chosen definitely captured the unique, dark, mysterious tone that Marked also had. The world building was very slow burning, the character perspectives constantly changed back and forth to give context, and overall it was long, but enjoyable. My review can be seen here.
3 / 5 stars

Now on to the manga…

Fruits Basket (volume 2) – by Natsuki Takaya
If you don’t know what this manga series is about it features Tohru, a high school student, who discovers the Sohma family secret: when hugged by the opposite sex, they turn into an animal of the Chinese zodiac. The characters develop and interact so beautifully and I adore all of them so much. I won’t post any spoilers, just know that my favourite is Kyo. I’m really enjoying this reread!
4 / 5 stars

Ajin: Demi-Human (volume 1) – by Gamon Sakurai & Tsuina Miura
Kei steps in front of a speeding truck accidentally and it mows him down. But his body knits itself together in the following seconds and he’s as good as new again. Turns out he’s a rare immortal creature who can see demons? He runs away in terror and is aided by his friend Kai. This seemed like the build-up to something huge, where Kei would be trapped in the middle of humankind and demonkind. I enjoyed it, but got caught up on Kei and Kai’s names because they’re so similar. And Kei was also a bit stupid and concluded some obvious things. I’d read on to see where this goes, though.
3 / 5 stars

Saga (volume 6) – by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples
This volume was just as visually beautiful as all of the others, but I think I had the most issue with this one. The reveal of the trans woman was abrupt and unnecessarily in your face, when it didn’t have to be. I adore the representation, just not how it was presented in this volume particularly, as if it was shock-factor rather than character development. (Also, gender/sexuality isn’t a spoiler in my opinion, so if you feel like this is a spoiler I’m sorry, but to me it isn’t.) The conclusion of this volume, as per usual, made me go “what?!” so naturally I can’t wait to read more, despite my frustration earlier! Could’ve been better, but overall still enjoyed! 
4 / 5 stars

And thus concludes October!

My favourite of this month would definitely be This Savage Song. I can’t believe I liked it more than Saga volume 6, completely surprising!!

Let me know what you’ve read and what you think? Tweet me or follow my instagram. ❤ See you in my next post and thanks for reading!!

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “OCTOBER WRAP UP

  1. You are so close to your Goodreads challenge! I always get a little nervous this close to the end of the year worrying I wont make it! I have always wanted to read a V E Schwab novel, would you suggest starting with This Savage Song or would you recommend another one of her books?

    1. I’d recommend starting with Vicious, that’s where I started. I found This Savage Song better, so it was like working my way up! I’m hoping to read ADSOM soon too. 🙂

  2. I liked this Savage Song but not as mush as ADSOM series, those characters just stole my heart *flails* Also i just finished Three Dark Crowns and the whole middle of the book just draaaaaged but then I really liked the ending so I’m excited to read the next book now 😀

    Great Wrap Up Bec!

    1. I’m saving ADSOM!! I feel like it’ll be better than the other books I’ve read by her so far! I’m hopefully going to read ADSOM early next year. ❤ And yes it did drag a little, but it was easy to read so I didn't mind too much! Thank you!!

  3. I need to start reading some Victoria Schwab. I have been hearing about her for so long, but I have just never picked up books up. I will get on it soon.
    I don’t read much manga either, and I don’t even know why. I don’t think I have found the right one.

    Thanks for the post Bec.

    1. I hope you stumble across the right manga for you! I started with Death Note, if that’s any help! And when you do pick up Schwab’s books, I hope you enjoy them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

