To Be Read Lists

Excited TBR: 2017

Here are 6 books that I’m super excited to read next year!!!

It’s a bit too late to squeeze all of these reads in before Christmas. And I definitely don’t want to rush them. These are for savouring!!

The Final Empire – by Brandon Sanderson
The first in his well known fantasy series, Mistborn. I cannot wait to sink my teeth into this world. A magic system that involves precious metals called Allomancy. An uprising. A troublemaker and his young apprentice. I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE.
Plus – I adored his Stormlight Archive series. If you haven’t read it, add it to your TBR right now as well! 

 

A Closed and Common Orbit – by Becky Chambers
Companion to The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, this follows the events directly after the conclusion of book 1. It will spoil you for the ending of book 1, so don’t read the synopsis in the link if you don’t want to be spoiled! I, personally, am so taken with this series and I can’t wait to discover what happens next!! 

The Bone Season – by Samantha Shannon
This has been described to me as crime meets fantasy, but in an urban setting? Apparently the terminology is a little challenging at the beginning, but once you settle, the payoff is extremely worth it. I have heard SUCH GOOD THINGS about this series, plus the third book is out in April, so I need to get onto it!

Six of Crows – by Leigh Bardugo
If you haven’t heard of this, where have you been?! A fantasy heist novel with multiple perspectives and characters you just need to get together? I am in. While I wasn’t overly interested in her first trilogy (Grisha), I am all for this duology. I have Crooked Kingdom ready to go after I get through this first book!

The Black Prism – by Brent Weekes
An epic, plot-driven fantasy that focuses on light as its magic system? And use of the magic shortens the life span of the user? I have no idea what to expect, but I hope it’s a wild ride. 

Unwind – by Neal Schusterman
This YA dystopian has been on my TBR for over a year now. Between the ages of 13 to 18, children’s lives can be “unwound” and their organs donated so they technically don’t die. This sounds gruesome, brutal and the anticipation is killing me. This sounds like a dystopian that’ll stay with me for a long time.

There you have it, six books I want to read!!!

Have you read these yet? Or do you plan to? I can’t even pick a favourite, I am super pumped to devour all of these!

If you’ve heard of these, or read any of them, let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

