Reading Wrap Ups

NOVEMBER WRAP UP

Thanks to the #TomeTopple readathon, I finished a few things this month! I read a total of 3 books, 1 comic, and 1 manga volume. My non-spoiler thoughts are below!

Heartless – by Marissa Meyer
I wrote a non-spoiler review for this here

Gemina (Illuminae Files #2) – by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Sequel to Illuminae, but following two different characters. Ohhhhh my goodness. This book HAD ME. It was so full of action, snark and humour and so well paced. It didn’t feel like I was reading at all, I breezed through this book! The characters were formed so well, I connected with them so easily (in comparison to Illuminae) and I love them.
5 / 5 stars

The Invasion of the Tearling – by Erika Johansen
This book was such a slow-burn and at first I was confused by Lily, until I realised it was a flashback to prior time (pre-Crossing, as Kelsea calls it). Usually I’d be frustrated with the outer perspective changing its character focus, but I didn’t mind if I read about Kelsea, Lily or the Red Queen, or anyone else! I thoroughly enjoyed how each character enriched the progression and the world.
4 / 5 stars

Sweet Tooth (vol. 2) – by Jeff Lemire
The first volume intrigued me, but this one took it to the next level. I have so many questions!!! This volume explored Sweet Tooth’s current situation, as well as Jeppard’s backstory. I didn’t expect to like him, but oh my lord. Yes. I need more of this series. I am so glad it’s concluded so I can just speed right through to the end!!
4.75 / 5 stars

Ouran High School Host Club (vol. 2) – by Bisco Hatori
This series is so silly but I love Haruhi’s interactions with the Club. She’s so genuine and sincere and they’re so dramatic. It’s such an excellent, hilarious contrast. She is basically the reader’s reactions but in the manga. It’s perfect.
3.75 / 5 stars

comic manga book

 

Reading all of these brought my Goodreads goal up to a total of 115 read books for 2016! I’ve never done a reading challenge before, but I managed to get over 100 and I’m super proud of myself! 

My favourite November read was definitely Gemina. Why did I put it off for so long?! I’m an idiot! But I’ve read it now; so worth it. I also didn’t get to Smoke by Ellen Hopkins (from my TomeTopple post here), but that’s okay, I didn’t think I’d get to it anyway!

How’s your challenge going? Have you read any of these as well?

See you in my next post, thanks for reading!!

5 thoughts on “NOVEMBER WRAP UP

  1. Great month Bec! Gemina is so amazing I couldn’t keep away from it as soon as it was in my hands it absolutly blew my mind and I can’t even imagine what will happen in the next book < I is a scared person DX I'm just hoping they don't break our hearts to much!

    1. Omg Gemina gripped my heart and held it tight!! Illuminae didn’t do that to me, so I’m SUPER CHUFFED I read Gemina, aaaahh!!! It was so good. I feel like hearts will be broken. It’s surely gotta happen.

      1. I can’t wait for news of anything Illuminae 3 related I want the cover, the name, a synopsis anything to fangirl over really XD
        I think my fave part was the identical conversations I read those pages like 3 times! I want the audio book to hurry up and be on Audible so I can listen and here the lollipop song bahaha

Leave a Reply

