Book Hauls

NOVEMBER BOOK HAUL

Hello!

Another month, another book haul!!

I’ve split this into 3 categories, though. The books I’ve bought, books I’ve received, and books I’ve swapped for. Without further ado, let’s get into it!

 

Books I bought this month! 

Lily and the Octopus – by Steven Rowley
I picked this up purely because it was recommended alongside The Art of Racing in the Rain, which is probably my favourite standalone ever. Lily and the Octopus is summed up the best by Goodreads with this quote, I think: “[this book] reminds us how to love fiercely, how difficult it can be to let go, and how the fight for those we love is the greatest fight of all”. Let’s be real, I’m going to cry when I read this. But I have no doubt it will be worth every tear shed. I have high expectations for this and I truly cannot wait! 

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 11.08.03 am

Swarm – by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti
Sequel to Zeroes, which I haven’t read yet! Anything with misfits and superpowers is right up my alley though so I had to buy it, right? 

The Midnight Star – by Marie Lu
The final book in The Young Elites trilogy! I gave 4 stars to The Young Elites when I read it earlier this year, it was so dark, interesting and surprising! I haven’t read The Rose Society yet, but I also have that. I’ll definitely be binge-reading these in the near future. 

The Passage – by Justin Cronin
The friends I swapped books with earlier this month made me so intrigued with this! Bookish discussions are awesome! So technically, this purchase is their fault. (Yay I found a signed copy!) Apocalypse, zombies, extremely well-written… why would I pass it up?! 900+ pages, but it’ll be worth it. 

Cress & Winter – by Marissa Meyer
A series of sci-fi YA fairytale retellings. The first book Cinder can be found here.

1984 – by George Orwell
I started this on my ereader AGES ago and just never continued. So I acquired the paperback in the hopes that I would! The concept of dystopia and Big Brother terrify me and this is a very intense read.

Simon vs. the Homosapien Agenda – by Becky Albertalli
A young adult contemporary featuring 16-year-old Simon (who’s gay, hasn’t openly come out yet) and mysterious love interest Blue whom he talks to online but doesn’t know the true identity of.  

Calamity – by Brandon Sanderson (First book: Steelheart.)
The third and final book in his Reckoner’s trilogy! I haven’t read book 2 yet, but the premise is basically that it’s YA Xmen, and everyone with superpowers is corrupted and evil. The humans, namely David our protagonist, want to stop these powerful Epics from ruling. So a small team of humans, known as The Reckoners, take on Steelheart who’s an epic that controls the city. David wants revenge for his father’s murder. SO ACTION-PACKED! GO READ IT! 

Arcanum Unbounded – by Brandon Sanderson
A collection of short stories relevant to his Stormlight Archive and Mistborn series, plus Elantris, Warbreaker and a few others! If you’re not sure whether to read this, go for publication order of his books, or read his series first. That’s what I’m doing! 

Books I received!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – J K Rowling ❤
PLS READ ABOUT NEWT SCAMANDER, HE IS PRECIOUS. GO, DO IT! A new, magical story set in the American wizarding world of the 1920s. (Thank you Hachette!!) 

The Shadow of What was Lost – by James Islington
A fantasy book, written by an Australian author, who was inspired by The Name of the Wind AND Mistborn?! SIGN ME UP NOW. Thank you so much Hachette for sending this my way, I am so damn excited to read this aaaahhh!!!  

The First Third – by Will Kostakis
My friend Jessica gave me the ARC (advanced readers copy/book proof) and I’m so excited! I loved The Sidekicks so much (gave it 5 stars) so I’m looking forward to reading more of Will’s work! Featuring Billy, who’s armed with his grandma’s bucket list, this looks like it will be an emotional but gratifying book that discusses family, embarrassment and growth. Perfect for summer, I think. 

Fullmetal Alchemist – by Hiromu Arakawa
(Volumes 1 – 3)
My awesome friend Hal sent these to me, thank you!!! This manga series follows Ed and Al Elric, two brothers who used Alchemy in an attempt to resurrect their dead mother. It didn’t go as planned; Ed lost an arm and a leg, Al lost his entire body and his soul is now bound to a suit of armour. To get their bodies back, both brothers seek the Philosopher’s Stone. This series is complex, emotional and imaginative. I loved the Homunculi based on the Seven Deadly Sins, I loved the alchemy, and I adored Ed’s temper (FYI, he’s short and hates milk)! Such a brilliant series and an awesome place to start reading manga. 

Scott Pilgrim: Precious Little Life – by Bryan Lee O’Malley
(Volume 1)
Hal also gave this to me, woohoo thank you! Scott Pilgrim basically falls in love with a girl but has to face-off her seven evil ex-boyfriends first! There’s a movie based on this manga series, it looks fun and light! 

The Continent – by Kiera Drake
I received this YA ARC from a lovely lady at Dymocks! But I didn’t realise that this had so many negative reviews? Apparently it’s racist? I didn’t realise that, just fell in love with the pretty ARC cover. At this stage I’m not sure whether I’ll post a review, but we’ll see what I think after I’ve read it. 

Books I swapped for!

You can find my book swap post here! I got 8 awesome books which I can’t wait to devour! Although let’s be truthful here, they’ll probably sit on my shelf for ages until I’m in the mood to read them…

Have you read any of these? I’ll bet that a fair few people have read The Midnight Star, I’m a bit behind on that series but I can’t wait to catch up!

Have you read any of these?

I can’t believe I acquired so many books this month. Help.

See you in my next post!

Leave a Reply

