To Be Read Lists

December TBR

Hello, welcome back!

In today’s post I’ll show you the books I’m planning to read in December! Let’s see if I get to them all… hopefully some time off work helps!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (screenplay) – by J K Rowling
Revisiting the magic of Harry Potter via Newt Scamander, but in America during the 1920s… I absolutely cannot wait. The movie was incredible and my heart is full of so much love already! And I haven’t even read it yet! 

The Diabolic – by S J Kincaid
A sci-fi where diabolics must kill for whom they’re created. But Nemesis must impersonate who she’s been created for in order to protect her… so she must become human. I was in just based on the name Nemesis, to be honest. Bring it!

The Shadow of What Was Lost – by James Islington
Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was born. A war fought by the Augurs. But Davian has a Gift, the ability to wield the forbidden power of the Augurs, and he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything. ARE YOU HOOKED YET? I AM. Plus, this was written by an Australian!! And he was inspired by Mistborn and Name of the Wind!

Harry Potter 1 & 2 (illustrated) – by J K Rowling & Jim Kay
Nostalgia. Beautiful images. Harry Potter in a new format. Need I say more? Honestly I can’t believe that I haven’t read the first one yet!

 

Ora’s Gold – by Charlotte Young
A dystopian-esque young adult book, written by an Aussie. In this book, Australia is ruled by the SIF (Special Investigation Force) and they control everything, including women’s bodies. Ora, an 18 year old who’s just moved in with her activist aunt, is conflicted about the illegal births she witnesses. She’s convinced someone will die and doesn’t know where to turn. She meets Jake at the beach, which is her escape, and when he encourages her to live a little everything goes terribly wrong.

The Star-Touched Queen – by Roshani Chokshi
I just know this is based on the zodiac, where Maya’s horoscope foretells a marriage that ends in death and destruction. So naturally, Maya’s father (the King) organises a political marriage to further the kingdom. PLUS it’s a diverse book. Yes.

Doctor Who: Twelve Doctors of Christmas
Gotta have one Christmassy book on the list, don’t I? Doctor Who just makes me think of the holiday season for some reason. I blame the Christmas special episodes. ❤ I’m looking forward to reading these short stories!

That’s so many overall. 8 books. I wasn’t planning on having a monthly TBR that big, but my to be read pile demands it. Oops.

I average 4-5 books per month, depending on what else is going on. Since December is usually busy with Christmas stuff, I don’t know how I’ll go with all of these but I’ll do my best! (I have two illustrated HP books and a 600+ page novel on my list for this month, I highly doubt I’ll get to everything.)

What are you reading during Christmas time?

2 thoughts on “December TBR

    1. Ooh, I hope you eventually read more of HP. The world and magic is so unique, I’m in love with it!!! 😀 I hope you enjoy these when you read them too, you’ll have to let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

