Book Events · Readathon

Goodreads Goal for 2017

In 2016 I made it my mission to read 100 books. I achieved that (by September) and I’m so proud of myself! (If you’re interested, they are here.)

But for 2017, I’m thinking of marking my goal down to 25 books for the year. A dramatic drop in number, right?

Let me explain a thing!

I have a tonne of books to read. Seriously, over 250 books on my shelf are unread. Which stresses me out if I overthink it, but also makes me happy because I have my own library.

I don’t want to stress out and stretch myself too much with a huge reading goal in 2017. I extended my 2016 challenge to become 115 books because I hit that 100 mark. Which was awesome! But I don’t want to read because I feel like I’m being timed. I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge of 100 books! I didn’t think it was personally doable, but I made it!

But now, my 2017 challenge will give me some breathing room. A smaller reading goal will still give me something to work towards, but if I have a slow month, I won’t feel like I have to catch up the next month because my goal isn’t high!

25 books is exciting! It means I can peruse my shelf and pick up what I want, when I want, rather than putting off a book because I don’t have time for it. If I go over that number, I can always increase my goal, too! I like moving the goal-posts, it renews the challenge.

I chose 100 books for 2016 because I wanted to know if I could do it, and I definitely proved that I could. ❤ It was my first year setting a Goodreads goal and I’m very happy with it! And I look forward to another, smaller, challenge!

What’s your Goodreads goal for 2017? Do you own a lot of unread books too??

Thanks for reading!

I’ll see you in my next post!

3 thoughts on “Goodreads Goal for 2017

  1. I’m exactly the same – completed 100 books this year for my challenge and next year am considering not even making a goal. I’m glad I proved to myself I could do it but next year I want to read at my own pace and start a new challenge in a different area of my life 🙂

    1. Yus I totally feel this way too! I still want to track my reading, though, so I’ll be making another challenge. Just a smaller one! Definitely more flexible!

Leave a Reply

