Book Hauls

PROJECT FIVE: BOOK BUYING

Yo! Welcome back!

“What the heck is the Project 5?” you ask? WELL.

I heard about it on Caz’s lovely booktube channel!

Basically, it’s a book buying challenge. You read 5 books before you’re allowed to buy 1. I know right? Terrifying. Especially for someone as addicted to bookmail as I am!!

This’ll definitely help get my TBR total down. I want my total to drop significantly, if possible to 50 books! To put it in perspective, at the moment I own over 300 unread books…

PICK YOUR JAWS UP OFF THE FLOOR, LET’S CARRY ON.

This is going to be so hard. I’ll do my best to stick to it. But I’ll say this now: review books don’t count towards my “bought” tally. But anything that I buy out of my own pocket, for myself, those count.

I’m not sure whether to include multiple copies of a book? Say, if I loved a review book, then bought the hardcover? It’s not adding to my TBR technically, so I don’t know! I’m not sure about duplicates!

I fail completely at book buying bans, but the Project 5 challenge lets me accumulate books, so I like it. It’s not a complete ban, plus it will really make me consider which bookish purchases future-me will be making!

I’M GOING TO CROSS MY FINGERS.

I hope I can do this. Let’s get this TBR number down, starting in 2017. At the very least, I hope to shrink my monthly hauls considerably!

18 thoughts on “PROJECT FIVE: BOOK BUYING

  1. I was thinking about doing this but I don’t know how well I’m going to go XD Hopefully I can do it, I have waaay to many books to read at the moment but new books are just so tempting 😀

    1. New books ARE so tempting! Aaahhh! It means I’ll just have to power read more so I can buy them! If you do it, keep me updated on your progress! I’ll certainly need the motivation. 😛

      1. I would be such a bad motivator XD I would be like well I bought 15 books so your splurge of 10 is good compared to me bahahahahaha no I’m going to try and be better and maybe just do a big birthday haul if I can resist buying to many books 🙂 Hopefully we can both get through our TBR’s!

      2. HAHAHAHA! That’s the greatest. :’D My birthday falls in May so if I can keep my hauls minimal until a birthday haul then I think I would’ve done quiet well! 😛 Here’s hoping we both get through our TBRs too!

      1. That would be super challenging. I almost always read at least 1 kindle book 1 physical book and an audiobook at the same time! I don’t think I could do it, I’ll be cheering you on though

      2. Well as long as you read 5 books you already own, you’re allowed to get 1 more of any format. So that’d be doable! You’d basically slay 3 books at a time so you’d nail it.

  2. My boyfriend thought I was crazy owning ten books I haven’t read. (The numbers have significantly slimmed now)! That said I wouldn’t exactly have anywhere to put 300 books!!😂

  3. Good luck! Think I might nab this 🙂
    I’m currently doing a “just finished jar” where every time I finish a book I put £1 in and then at the end of the year treat myself to BOOOOOKS. Great incentive as the more I read, the more I can buy later xD

Leave a Reply

