Reading Wrap Ups · Reviews

2016: 2 star books!

Welcome back!

Everyone loves unpopular bookish opinions, right? I thought I’d share some of mine! Please note that these are just my readings and opinions, you are entitled to love any book to your heart’s content!

Unfortunately, I just happened to dislike the books below…

1: A Court of Thorns and Roses – by Sarah J Maas 

This was the first book I read in 2016 and it let me down hard. After LOVING Throne of Glass, I thought I’d adore this series too, but I was WRONG. The plot dragged, becoming interesting only at the end. The protagonist had barely any agency. The romance was intense but not particularly well-founded… I just thoroughly disliked it, unfortunately. The only character I did enjoy was Lucien. Kind of wish the plot was about him instead. I may continue with the sequel, but nothing is set in stone yet. In other words, I don’t know.

2: Snow Like Ashes – by Sara Raasch

I’ll just copy and paste what I wrote on Goodreads: “I really wanted to love this book, the concepts of the realm and races were phenomenal. Their affinities to the seasons was unique and beautifully conveyed. Unfortunately though, this book just really underwhelmed me. I couldn’t get into it because it felt like the plot was unfolding too slowly and Meira’s voice constantly said “be strong for Winter” or “I am Winter” or something to that extent. It got a little tedious in the end. I understood that Winter has been oppressed; I wanted the action to match their anger, but it fell flat to me. The slight plot twist at the end of the book made me go “oh, well, that’s pretty cool” but it didn’t shock me. I don’t know, this book might just not have been for me? I own the sequel, so I may as well continue to see if it picks up now that the foundations are set. So I guess I’ll see.” 

3: Wink, Poppy, Midnight – by April Genevieve Tucholke

This cover was GORGEOUS but sadly, it fell short of my expectations. In my Goodreads review all I said was “I either didn’t get it, or I just didn’t like it“. The plot was intriguing at the beginning, but gave me intense mental whiplash in the final reveal. It was too 180 for me, didn’t feel seamless, and I just didn’t enjoy it.

4: East of West (volume 1) – by Jonathan Hickman 

I technically gave this a 3 stars, but thinking about it, I could’ve given it a 2. I’ve since decided that I probably won’t continue with this series. My Goodreads review: “Because this has a western setting with elements of fantasy thrown in, I went in with heightened expectations. But this actually confused me a lot and didn’t particularly hook me. I feel like it has some potential, as the four horseman of the apocalypse are featured in it, but Death is on his own mission. Maybe I’ll come back to this in the future, but I’m not going to rush out and immediately pick up the next volume. The illustrations are beautiful though and I adored all the colours.”

Well, there you go.

My TINY list of 2 star books for 2016! The fact that this is so small must mean that I’ve had a pretty great reading year. I’m actually quite happy!

As far as unpopular bookish opinions go, I think I have very few. Hoping that 2017 will also be a year of minimal 2 star reads!

Did you like or dislike any of the books above? Let me know if you like!

 

9 thoughts on “2016: 2 star books!

  1. You know I LOVED ACOTAR when I first read it and then rereading it this year before ACOMAF I was just like: why did I love this so much? And now I really loved ACOMAF Im waiting for the new year to come round and I’ll reread it and probably have the same reaction 😅 I get too swept away by hype and romance sometimes 😂 Great list avec!

    1. HAHAHA! Everyone loves different things at different times!! Plus we romanticise the memory of things a bit. 😛 And yes I am now avec. I always get a red squiggly line under Bec, I don’t know why technology dislikes me!

  2. I think from your issues with ACOTAR you will actually love ACOMAF. For me I felt like ACOTAR was a stronger beginning for SJM, the last half of the book really did save it though. ACOMAF takes place in a few different locations and is very much about Feyre finding herself as a single person not part of a pair, the plot really develops and she has some great epiphanies shall we say. I think it’s worth a shot!

    1. Everyone says the second book is better! For that reason I haven’t entirely shafted it. But I probably won’t buy it. Thankfully a friend of mine has a copy, so I’ll probably borrow it from her at some point!

Leave a Reply

