Readathon · To Be Read Lists

January – DAReadAThon!

Woohoo, another readathon! I really love readathons, they’re so motivating and creative!

Aentee at ReadAtMidnight.com created this awesome reading challenge, see italics below! (Her announcement post is here!)

What: #DAReadAThon is a Harry Potter themed readathon, focusing on diverse (especially #ownvoices) books.

When: The readathon will begin Sunday 1st January and conclude Sunday 15th January, midnight to midnight – wherever in the world you’re based.

Now on to my TBR and the reading prompts which are inspired by Harry Potter spells! I have no idea whether I’ll get to all of these, but they’re on this list in the hopes that I will!

Expecto Patronum: read a book featuring an issue of personal significance to you or a loved one. 
A Quiet Kind of Thunder, by Sara Barnard. This new 2017 YA release features a mute protagonist and a deaf love interest, so as someone who learned Australian Sign Language in high school (and was exposed to deaf culture), this is a book that definitely intrigues me. 

Expelliarmus: disarm your own prejudices. Read a diverse book featuring a marginalised group you don’t often hear about.
Lizard Radio, by Pat Schmatz. It’s a dystopian which features a genderqueer main character? Plus the cover is GORGEOUS! I’ve seen this book described as “an author’s love letter to gender nonconforming teens” which just warms my heart so much.
This isn’t exactly a ‘group’ as the prompt suggests, but it’s certainly a subject that I’ve read nothing about. I cannot think of any genderqueer/nonbinary fiction (or YA) off the top of my head. 

Protego: protect those narratives and keep them true. Read an #OwnVoices book for this prompt.
If I Was Your Girl, by Meredith Russo. A trans story, written by a trans writer, with a photo on the book cover of a trans girl? This is like triple trans and I need to read it. 

Reducto: smash that glass ceiling, read a book that empowers women from all different walks of life!
I don’t think I have a book on my shelf for this prompt! Noo! (Please recommend me one in the comments if something springs to mind!)

Impedimentia: read a diverse book that’s been on your TBR shelf too long. 
Akuma No Riddle, by Yun Kouga. A story set in a girls boarding academy where Class Black is comprised of 13 students, 12 of which are assassins. The 13th student is their prey; enter a transfer student hellbent on killing her but can’t pull the trigger… When I saw that this was female-romance orientated, I snatched it up. I’ve never read an assassin manga with a female love interest? Woo! 

Stupefy: read a diverse book that has stunned the internet with all its well-deserved hype. 
A Torch Against the Night, by Sabaa Tahir. This book has been hyped, but I haven’t been spoiled (luckily!) so I don’t know if it’s well-deserved hype? I’m assuming it is well-deserved and I can’t wait to read this sequel! 

Lumos: read a diverse book as recommended by another blogger or bookish buddy.
IDA, by Alison Evans. Alison’s my friend and they told me about this being published in January, so I’m going to count it, hehe! Ida can shift through parallel universes which allows her to follow alternate pathways. When she sees a shadowy doppelganger of herself on a train, she starts to question the control of her ability. I just adore this premise and I can’t wait to read another book by Alison!
Previously I’d read We Go Forward, which is a lovely story about an ace and bi girl friendship! 

This is going to be so challenging. But I’m up for knocking a couple of diverse reads off my TBR! This’ll be a cracking way to start the year of 2017!

Are you joining in? What’s your favourite diverse book?

Thank you for reading!

5 thoughts on “January – DAReadAThon!

  1. Great list! I can’t wait to read If I was Your Girl and all these covers are just so beautiful 😀 For Girl empowerment prompt maybe something like I am Malala if you haven’t read it yet? I haven’t read it but I will be soon and from what I know about Malala she is just an amazing human and a huge inspiration to woman around the world.

    1. Yes that’s an amazing rec, thank you! Unfortunately I don’t own it! I will be getting Fight Like A Girl by Clementine Ford very soon (January I think!), so maybe I can include that for feminism. I’m not sure!

      1. I haven’t read Fight Like A Girl but I’ve heard good things 🙂 Also every-time I go to Big W I keep seeing it so I feel like I’ll take it home with me the next time I see it 🙂

Leave a Reply

