Reading Wrap Ups

2016: fave sci-fi books!

Hi there!

Usually I’m a huge fantasy reader, but this year I slipped in some sci-fi as well and it was the BEST DECISION!

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 10.32.35 am

Here are my top 6 sci-fi reads of 2016, hope you recognize at least one of them! All the links will open a separate Goodreads page for a more detailed synopsis!

(I got this top sci-fi books idea from Casey, her blog post is here!)

 1: The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – by Becky Chambers
If you’re looking for an action-packed story, don’t pick this up just yet. The narrative is slow burning and character driven, full of bursting culture and meaningful existential thought. IN SPACE. The characters are just beautiful and I was teary at the end. Such a beautiful book, it’s a must-read, particularly if you’re after a diverse book!
5 / 5 stars

2: Gemina – by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
THIS IS FAST PACED. GO, READ IT, GO GO. It’s also a sequel/companion to Illuminae so beware of spoilers if you haven’t read book 1 yet! There was so much action, plot development, and character snark in this book and I absolutely ADORED it!! It’s mixed media, young adult, but definitely packs a punch and the format is so unique, too.
5 / 5 stars

3: We Are The Ants – by Shaun Hutchinson
Another diverse, sci-fi read! Henry, the protagonist, is gay. His family is in a shambles. His boyfriend just committed suicide. And he is abducted by aliens and given a choice: to press the button or not press the button? If he presses it, he will end the world. If he spares it, he spares everyone, and himself. It’s a test of humanity and a broken character; I thoroughly enjoyed this, it was beautiful. Closer to contemporary than sci-fi, but definitely worth adding to your list.
5 / 5 stars

4: Ready Player One – by Ernest Cline
If you’re a gamer, you’ll love the concept of this book. Virtual reality is real; it’s where most of the world live, now. Their physical lives aren’t worthwhile and the economy has transferred into a digital space where you can construct your identity and compete to win ownership of the entire space. Find the Easter Eggs the creator left in the “game” after his death, and you will inherit it all. Plus, it’s packed full of 80s pop culture references. What’s not to love?
4 / 5 stars

5: The Diabolic – by S J Kincaid
I wrote a non spoiler review here! This was more brutal than I expected. It was a sci-fi, but the characters in this world predominantly shunned and hated science, even though they lived in space. Plus, the protagonist is a genetically engineered creature called a Diabolic, built to protect whoever she’s bonded with from creation. Her name is Nemesis, and this book is insane in an excellent way.
4 / 5 stars

6: Saga – by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples (illustrator)
Warning: probably don’t read this in public. It’s very… graphic. It hides nothing, it will cut out your heart, make you laugh, and hook you on its cliffhangers with every volume. Told by the narration of Hazel, the daughter of two soldiers from opposing sides of an intergalactic war, these fugitives stumble into no end of disasters (with others, and each other). As cliché as it sounds, this is definitely a rollercoaster!
4.75 / 5 stars

Have you read any of these? If you haven’t, definitely pick them up if you’re craving a good sci-fi fix, they’re all so good.

See you in my next post. 🙂

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “2016: fave sci-fi books!

  1. YESSSSSS! Gemina and Saga were definitely some of my favourites from this year! I also really want to read The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet now, it sounds amazing and the cover is gorgeous!!!
    Loved this list Bec!

  2. I am so excited to read We Were ants and A long way to a small angry planet there going to be my first sci fi reads of the new year hopefully 😊 I have ready player one just sitting on my shelf, I’m going to take it on holiday with my(I am taking so many books on holiday with me 🙈)

    Ah I’m so happy to hear you liked The Diabolic I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read it or not so I thought I’d wait for some reviews but it really sounds like something I’m going to
    Love 😊 Great sci fi list Bec!

    1. I hope you like all of the books you get to read from the list I made! 😄 Ready Player One wasn’t a fast book, so it’s perfect for the holidays when you’re not in a rush! Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

