Book Hauls

DECEMBER BOOK HAUL

Welcome to my monthly haul blog post! This is my December book haul, but I’ll do a separate haul as my Christmas book haul.

Yeah, I accumulate too many books, I know. It’s a character flaw. But I don’t even mind. 😀

Books I bought

The Grownup – by Gillian Flynn
This is a novella by the author of Gone Girl and I don’t want to know too much about it from the synopsis. I copied the first paragraph from Goodreads which is enough for me: “A canny young woman is struggling to survive by perpetrating various levels of mostly harmless fraud. On a rainy April morning, she is reading auras at Spiritual Palms when Susan Burke walks in. A keen observer of human behavior, our unnamed narrator immediately diagnoses beautiful, rich Susan as an unhappy woman eager to give her lovely life a drama injection.

The Good Luck of Right Now – by Matthew Quick
Matthew Quick usually writes an emotional but meaningful contemporary, plus this book is set out in a letter format. It should be quick and interesting, plus it features a road trip!

Grief is a Thing with Feathers – by Max Porter
I’ve been told that this will rip my heart out. Which only the best books do. So naturally I added it to my collection! Here’s a quick snapshot from Goodreads: “In a London flat, two young boys face the unbearable sadness of their mother’s sudden death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar and scruffy romantic, imagines a future of well-meaning visitors and emptiness. In this moment of despair they are visited by Crow – antagonist, trickster, healer, babysitter.”

My Life as a White Trash Zombie – by Diana Rowland
I thought this was a comic, but it was a book. I unhauled it to a friend. Oops, oh well, goodbye. 

I also pre-ordered Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology, can’t wait for it to arrive in February 2017!

Books I received

Strange the Dreamer (ARC) – by Laini Taylor

I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THIS AND REVIEW IT FOR YOU GUYS! Here’s what Goodreads says: “the aftermath of a war between gods and men
a mysterious city stripped of its name
a mythic hero with blood on his hands
a young librarian with a singular dream
a girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled
alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.
Welcome to Weep.

Frostblood (ARC) – by Elly Blake
This looks like an awesome YA dystopian with fire and ice elementals. Ruby, the protagonist, is a fireblood who’s enlisted by rebel frostbloods to take down, presumably, the house of power in this book. What’s a dystopian without a rebellion, right? So excited for this!

The Blade Itself – by Joe Abercrombie
Another high fantasy, what can I say, I love them! This one is about barbarians, conspiracies, and fine lines between heroes and villains that can be sliced with a knife. Cannot. Wait.

Frost Like Night – by Sarah Raash
Third book in the Snow Like Ashes trilogy! I haven’t read book 2 yet, but now I can just binge books 2 & 3!

The Girl At Midnight – by Melissa Grey
New York city. An ancient race of peoples living under it, called the Avians. No humans can see them, except Echo, who’s been raised in their care. There’s a looming threat of a centuries-old war, plus the promise of a daring quest/theft. I’m in. Urban YA fantasy always gets me interested!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Quidditch Through the Ages, The Tales of Beedle The Bard – by J K Rowling
These little collections by Rowling will definitely bring with them a kick of nostaligia when I read them. Can’t wait to revisit the magical world in snapshots that’ll broaden it. Love new HP content, truly the best!

The Walking Dead (volumes 2 & 3) – by Robert Kirkman
These comics are Brutal. I loved volume 1. If you’re thinking about watching the show, read these first. They’re a more involved, character building, zombie experience. I can’t wait to read volumes 2 and 3 now!!!

The Natural Way of Things – by Charlotte Wood
This has been described to me as a feminist, raw, dystopian-esque book that will catch me right in the heart. It was recommended to me by my awesome coworkers, who’ve both read it and stared at me in horror when I said I hadn’t. I can’t wait to slip into this story, I think I’ll have to read it and have zero plans for the following day! 

The Girl in Kellers Way (ARC) – by Megan Goldin
This is a crime book about a woman’s murder, a woman cop investigating it… and that’s legitimately all I know. It isn’t even on Goodreads yet (link is to Book Depo)! It comes out in June 2017.

And there you go, that’s my list. Sixteen books. AND THAT’S PRE-CHRISTMAS. Oh my god. Thank you to friends, publishers and coworkers for these amazing books!!!

Please tell me you’ve got a heap of books this holidays too. I can’t be the only one with a book haul like this, surely!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS! MERRY CHRISTMAS! SEE YOU ON THE OTHER SIDE! ❤

Leave a Reply

