To Be Read Lists

Summer TBR List!

Hi again!

Since it’s summer in Australia from December-February, I thought I’d put together a summer reading list! There are 5 unread books on my list that fit the summer season.

Usually I’m happy to pick up a chunky fantasy when it’s not winter time, but I have all of these sitting on my shelf, too. So I may as well give them some attention!

They’re waiting. WAITING. And I feel guilty. I hope I get to at least one of them.

 

1: Holding Up The Universe – by Jennifer Niven 
This’ll be the second book by Jennifer that I’ll pick up. All the Bright Places was beautiful and sad, I loved it. I expect no less from this one, too. 

2: Summer Skin – by Kirsty Eagar 
This is a #LoveOzYA book jam-packed with feminism and compelling characters. Goodreads says: “Jess Gordon is out for revenge. Last year the jocks from Knights College tried to shame her best friend. This year she and a hand-picked college girl gang are going to get even.” I’m honestly so over the moon to own this, I can’t wait to pick it up! 

3: Yellow – by Megan Jacobson 
A gritty YA about drunk parents and school bullying, plus communication from a teenage ghost via a phone booth. Sign me up, honestly! 

4: Simon vs. The Homosapien’s Agenda – by Becky Albertalli 
Everyone I know who’s read this say it is unbelievably cute! Featuring Simon, a sixteen year old (not out of the closet) gay teen, who’s talking to an online anonymous guy. Simon is blackmailed and the story unfolds from there. 

5: Clancy of the Undertow – by Christopher Currie 
This is an OzYA title featuring a lesbian protagonist whose Dad has a car accident and accidentally kills two teens. She lives in a small town, and Sasha (the unattainable hot girl) is suddenly within romantic reach? Clancy has to figure out who the hell she is this summer and frankly, I can’t wait to find out with her.

There you have it. Have you read any of these? Should I start with one of these in particular? I’m so indecisive!!

Happy reading and see you in my next post!

2 thoughts on “Summer TBR List!

    1. It’s also more New Adult than Young Adult! So a little older than we usually expect. I imagine that’ll make it even more exciting to get to!

Leave a Reply

