To Be Read Lists

Anticipated Reads for 2017! (Part 1 of 2)

These are just some of the books I’m looking forward to in 2017!

1. Dreadnought – by April Daniels 
(January 24, 2017)
Let’s see if you fell in love with the premise just like I did. Here you go: “Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of the world’s greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, she was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender.” EEEE! 

2: Norse Mythology – by Neil Gaiman
(February 7, 2017)
Not only does the cover look GORGEOUS, mythology always piques my interest! Neil Gaiman will surely put a unique spin on the tales that I’m most definitely anticipating! 

3. King’s Cage (Red Queen book #3) – by Victoria Aveyard
(February 7, 2017)
Okay so Red Queen isn’t the most revolutionary of books, but I loved it anyway because of the timing that I read it. (Straight after writing my Honours thesis, when I needed something quick, magical and YA.) Characters with powers, political maneuvering, overwhelmed teens trying to make the right decisions… and Cal, whom I love. I hope this doesn’t end with my heart breaking but it just might. SO NERVOUS. 

A Conjuring of Light (book #3) – by V E Schwab
(February 28, 2017)
I haven’t even read book 1 (A Darker Shade of Magic) yet but it’s on my ASAP to be read list. I know I need to, I know I’ll love it. Parallel Londons, magic, smuggling, travelling… I don’t know why I’ve procrastinated so long. Just “magic” and “London” is enough to completely hook me.

4. Traitor to the Throne – by Alwyn Hamilton
(March 2017)
Sequel to Rebel in the Sands! “She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.” This, plus its mystical elements, had me hooked. I loved book 1 and can’t wait to read the sequel this year! 

5. History Is All You Left Me – by Adam Silvera
(March 2017)
This’ll destroy my heart, I bet. But it’ll be worth it. “When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes.” 😦 I haven’t read his debut More Happy Than Not yet, but for some reason I’m going crazy with anticipation for this release! 

6. The Song Rising (book #3) – by Samantha Shannon
(March 2017)
Book 1 was The Bone Season: “The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds.” I haven’t read it. But I’m going to this year. And then I’m going to devour The Mime Order and The Song Rising, too.

7. Alone (Generations Trilogy #3)- by Scott Sigler
(March 15, 2017)
Book 1, Alive, details Em awakening in a coffin among other confused survivors. She reluctantly becomes their leader. This is a dystopian-esque survival tale that both frustrated and surprised me; the characters are excellent. I cannot wait to see what happens in book 3, how will this even end?! 

8. Saga (volume 7) – by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples
(March 28, 2017)
VOLUME SEVEN IS COMING, AAAHHHH! CAN’T DEAL!! 

 

9. Draekora (book #3) – by Lynette Noni
(April 2017)
Book 1 Akarnae features a magical school and a fantasy world, I need to read it! “Dreading her first day at a new school, Alex is stunned when she walks through a doorway and finds herself stranded in Medora, a fantasy world full of impossibilities. Desperate to return home, she learns that only a man named Professor Marselle can help her… but he’s missing.” I have books 1 & 2, just waiting on 3 and I can read them all at once!! 

10. Begin, End, Begin: A LoveOzYA Anthology – by
(April 24, 2017)
A short story compilation of a bunch of Aussie authors, I can’t wait! Also the cover is so pretty! 

And that’s all of them! Well, I think it is, at least for part 1. Have I missed any? Let me know in the comments! ❤

8 thoughts on “Anticipated Reads for 2017! (Part 1 of 2)

Leave a Reply

