Book Events · Book Hauls

Book Event & Haul – YA Room Picnic

Hi there! I attended a bookish picnic on Sunday and had the best time!

THE PICNIC

The awesome girls (Sarah & Alex) at The YA Room organized this lovely picnic day so our book club could all meet each other and eat snacks and cake! (There’ll also be another January meet-up to discuss their January book club pick, Ida by Alison Evans, on the 29th.) 

There was such delicious baked goods to eat, a pass the bookish parcel, plus our book swap where we all brought a wrapped up book! I brought The Art of Racing in the Rain, it’s my favourite standalone, so hopefully someone else will love it!

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 10.05.22 am

 

BOOK HAUL
Book meet-ups usually mean unhauling your unwanted books to fellow booklovers. Here are some books I received from my awesome bookish Melbournite buddies! I also received a Melting Library candle which smells like chocolate chip cookies, I kid you not. (I bought that though & Dani delivered it to me!) ❤

The Wrath and the Dawn & The Rose and the Dagger – by Renee Ahdieh
Such a popular duology, now I can finally read it and see what I think for myself. Based on the fairytale of A Thousand Nights, this is a romance story, I think? I’ll have to read it and find out!

A Shadow Bright and Burning – by Jessica Cluess
A new Penguin release that features Victorian London and magic? Um, yes. 

Shatter Me, Unravel Me, Ignite Me (trilogy) – by Tahereh Mafi 
Such hype exists for this YA dystopian series. I’ve gotta know why. 

Replica (ARC) – by Lauren Oliver
This can be read from alternate ends of the book. I’m personally going to flip it back and forth as I read so I get both stories at once! 

Conjurer (ARC) – by John & Carol E Barrowman
BARROWMAN! 

Library of Souls – by Ransom Riggs
I now have the complete trilogy, yay! (The first book is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children!)

The Mime Order – by Samantha Shannon
I have the sequel to The Bone Season. I have the sequel to The Bone Season. I have the sequel to The Bone Season. 

Heartless – by Marissa Meyer
I eventually want to trade my ARC of Heartless, so when Alex was unhauling a finished copy I said yes please! (Full review here!) 

The Slow Regard of Silent Things – by Patrick Rothfuss
The Name of the Wind is one of my top favourite fantasy books ever. This is a little novella focusing on the character Auri. I’m absolutely over the moon to own this little book!

 

THANK YOU TASH, DANI, ALEX AND STEPH! ❤ MUCH LOVE! I felt seriously spoiled and so lucky, so truly, thank you so much. I mean my shoulder is dying from carrying all of these home, but it was definitely worth it!

I got 12 books. And I bought none of them, so take that Project 5, muahaha.

The picnic was so much fun though, seriously can’t wait for more events with my fellow Melbourne booklovers! ❤ Thank you for all the laughs! And do let me know if you’ve read any of the books I mentioned!

If you head over to The YA Room on Twitter or Instagram you can follow them for more bookish events like this. So much fun!

3 thoughts on “Book Event & Haul – YA Room Picnic

Leave a Reply

