Reviews

IDA – Review (spoiler free)

Hi & welcome back!

Here’s my spoiler free review of this gorgeous little book, Ida! (First off, isn’t that cover just so pretty?!)

1
Title: Ida

Author: Alison Evans

Genre: sci-fi, queer lit, young adult, contemporary

Pages: 244

Book Launch (Melbourne): Feb 2, 6pm, Readings Carlton

Release Date: January 1, 2017

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing

Here’s a link to Ida:
http://www.echopublishing.com.au/titles/ida/
You can view an extract here and Alison’s got a video up talking about their book!

Synopsis (From Bonnier Publishing’s website)

“How do people decide on a path, and find the drive to pursue what they want?
Ida struggles more than other young people to work this out. She can shift between parallel universes, allowing her to follow alternative paths.
One day Ida sees a shadowy, see-through doppelganger of herself on the train. She starts to wonder if she’s actually in control of her ability, and whether there are effects far beyond what she’s considered.”
Click here for full Goodreads synopsis.

My thoughts
This book was so relatable and real, I was easily taken by the hand and led through its pages. I loved the representation in this book, the fact that words like binder, bisexual, and trans were all used (I’d love to see this rep more often). And I adored Ida herself, she was the epitome of an adult-youth that didn’t know what to do with her life (so, so relatable).

The sci-fi element, Ida’s time travel, was woven so well into the narrative. I was never jarred from the story while reading about her switches. They were well done and by the end of the book, I was getting anxious for Ida and hoping that her doppelgangers wouldn’t cause her harm!

1

Ida was so human, her love for Daisy was so beautiful and simple, and her anxieties were so relatable. This was such a quick read for me because I felt so enveloped by the realness of it; the relationship with Daisy, the familial elements with Ida’s cousin Frank and her father… this was just such an honest, intriguing book.

I keep coming back to it in my head: the representation in this book is excellent. I’m so happy to see the words bisexual and trans appear in Ida. I very rarely see these terms used in other YA fiction and this was just so refreshing to see because they’re distinct and clear this way! I hope using them becomes more common, because there’s definitely not a shortage of people who identify with those terms.

As someone who didn’t grow up reading a lot of fiction that represented non-white, non-straight people, I’m broadening my horizons and language now and I’m learning so much (always). Definitely add this to your diverse reading list if you haven’t already!

The reason this isn’t quite a 5 star read for me is because I feel like the ageless Damaris and the organisation she works for could’ve been explored just a bit more. This was definitely Ida’s story, no doubt about it, but I would’ve liked to know a bit more about what’s surrounding her. And Frank was excellent, more of him being an awesome cousin, please!

Overall, Ida’s just so fun, realistic, and intriguing, I’ve never read anything like it. I truly adored it. I’d definitely recommend it if you’re usually a contemporary genre type of person, as this was highly relatable with a sci-fi undertone!

Rating
4 / 5 stars

Thank you so much Bonnier Publishing for sending me Ida in exchange for an honest review! (This in no way affected my opinion, I genuinely loved this book!)

I’m attending Alison’s book launch at Readings on February 2nd, so maybe I’ll see you there! Thank you for reading, hope you love this book as much as I did!

3 thoughts on “IDA – Review (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

