Reviews

The Mime Order – Review (spoiler free)

WARNING: Reading further will spoil you for book 1, The Bone Season! This review won’t contain any spoilers for The Mime Order, but I’ll be discussing what’s happened after book 1, so if you don’t want to know the ending of book 1 my spoiler free review is here!

Okay, carry on!

Synopsis

Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner. Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.


Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 9.54.49 amTitle:
The Mime Order

Author: Samantha Shannon

Pages: 501

Genre: urban fantasy

Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia
Link to buy book here.

Buy: Dymocks, Booktopia, Book Depository


My thoughts

The Mime Order picked up straight after book 1 ended, so I was very glad I read them back to back! Paige, the Seven Seals, and a bunch of slaves have just escaped the colony of Sheol I and are on a train back to Scion. Warden does not come with them. (Sob.) Do we see him again? Mystery…!

This book had me on the edge of my seat, the plot unfolded in a very slow-burn way and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I was a lot more invested in the world in this book (compared to The Bone Season) as I already knew what a lot of the terms meant, and I knew how the hierarchy worked.

I was also familiar with Nick (my love), Jaxon, and Paige of course. The way Paige pushed herself and never seemed to sleep… I admire her (and am scared of her). She’s amazing and so resilient. But she’s also emotionally vulnerable, which I really like. It’s such an awesome contrast; she doesn’t deny feelings or push them away, she tries to understand them. She acknowledges she’s scared.

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 9.56.15 am

Paige really stepped up in The Mime Order. The scrimmage (at the conclusion) was my FAVOURITE bit! The action and intensity was awesome!! I predicted the direction the end of the book took, but not entirely what would happen. You could see the direction it was heading in. But nothing was revealed, there was a cliffhanger…?!

THAT. ENDING. It is safe to say that I NEED THE NEXT BOOK RIGHT NOW!

The Song Rising, come to me. I need more of this writing and these characters. They’re in my heart, I need to know more about this brutal world, and the rebellion within it.

Definitely pick these books up if you haven’t yet! The world of Scion London is a slow-burning masterpiece and Paige is too kick-ass to ignore.

Rating

5 / 5 stars

4 thoughts on “The Mime Order – Review (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

