Book Hauls

JANUARY BOOK HAUL

Hi there!

Let’s see how well my book buying restriction (Project 5) held up in its first month! For those of you who don’t know, Project 5 is basically “read 5 books before you buy 1”.

I thought it’d be fun and challenging to show my stats at the bottom of every monthly haul. I’m surely going to get behind, because I plan on doing a huge book haul for my birthday in May, but so far I’m happy with the numbers!

Below are the books I accumulated in January!

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 9.46.08 am

 

Blood for Blood (signed) – by Ryan Graudin
Sequel to Wolf by Wolf, a YA historical fiction set in an alternate time, where Hitler won. The main character can shapeshift. There was a motorcycle contest. It was intense and I can’t wait to see what happens next!
(Bought because I read 5 books.) 

Valentine (signed & personalised) – by Jodi McAlister
I attended her launch at the Penguin Teen Showcase on January 18 and after hearing her speak, I just HAD to buy her debut! This puts me behind in my project 5, but I’ll gain on the number, I’m sure of it. And this book is worth it. Jodi described this book as, “Small town. Smart girl. Creepy fairies.”
(Bought, now I have to catch my read total up.)

Timekeeper – by Tara Sim
I ordered this at the end of December, so I’m going to say it doesn’t count towards my Project 5 goal, ha! 
A Victorian world where a broken clock tower can fracture time and a male character with a male love interest. I’m already hooked. Also, the cover is gorgeous.

House of Leaves – by Mark Z Danielewski 
This book has been described to me as “CONFUSING”. Here’s what Goodreads says: “A blind old man, a young apprentice working in a tattoo shop, and a mad woman haunting an Ohio institute narrate this story of a family that encounters an endlessly shifting series of hallways in their new home, eventually coming face to face with the awful darkness lying at its heart.”
I didn’t purchase this book, I paid postage because a Twitter friend was getting rid of it. So technically it doesn’t count! Woop!

Norse Mythology (ARC) – by Neil Gaiman
My coworker gifted me the proof of this, it is GORGEOUS! (I preordered the hardcover in December!) It looks like a compilation of short stories about Loki, Thor, Odin and Freya. Very excited!!

The Sun Is Also A Star – by Nicola Yoon
I won this in an Instagram giveaway from Lily! This book is a contemporary, YA romance which is also a diverse book! It focusses on Natasha, whose family is 12 hours away from being deported to Jamaica. And Daniel, who’s the good son, the student, who forgets all of that when he sees Natasha.

A Gathering of Shadows – by V E Schwab
This is a sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic! My amazing boyfriend bought this for me to cheer me up when I was sick recently. ❤ London, alternate worlds, magic, what’s not to be interested in?

Caraval – by Stephanie Garber
Thank you Hachette Australia for sending this to me! I’ll review it shortly!
“Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world.. A sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.” I can’t wait to read this in February!

Plus the books I received from friends at The YA Room’s picnic! Which totals 12 books. Wow. ❤ You can see my post about it here if you want! If I didn’t adopt these 12 books I would’ve done considerably better with this haul! But who can resist free books, right?

Read total: 9
Bought total: 2
Haul total: 20
How far behind I am in my read total: 1

If you’ve read any of these books let me know what you rated them in the comments! (No spoilers please!) Did you haul books this month? Did you get more or less than me? Let me know in the comments if you want!

Thank you for reading, see you in my next post!

10 thoughts on “JANUARY BOOK HAUL

  1. Some awesome books here!! I’m on a book buying hiatus because I have too many books sitting in my TBR pile, but I have managed to find ways to get new books without them counting haha! Awesome post!

  2. I broke my book buying ban already! I bought 3 books and preordered one. I would like to point out that I bought and straight away read 2 of them so I think it shouldn’t count. Lets not talk about the audiobooks and kindle books I bought.

    1. Hahaha, I hauled The Mime Order but read that straight away too! So I think we’re doing okay! I mean, if I didn’t have a restriction, I would’ve bought heaps more so it’s definitely working. 😛

Leave a Reply

