Readathon

Readathon: #TBRTakedown 5.0

I decided to participate in a last-minute readathon this February! I’m mostly using my current February TBR for the list anyway, but the motivation will help me get through them more quickly, I think!

The readathon dates are from February 6 – February 12! I found this readathon via Shannon’s Twitter handle!

THESE ARE THE CHALLENGESScreen Shot 2017-03-12 at 9.37.52 am

TBR shelf for over a year:
The book that’s been on my TBR for over a year is definitely The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson! It’s not that I’m putting it off… I just know that I have the Mistborn trilogy, plus the series after it to read… That’s six big books! It’s time to finally start, though. YAY!

Most recent book haul:
This is easy. Definitely Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman. I’m already reading it and it’s short, so hopefully that’ll be finished very quickly!
My January book haul post is here if you missed it!

First book in a series:
I could use The Final Empire again, but I won’t. I’ll go for Frostblood by Elly Blake. I won it from Hachette so I’m very excited to read it! Everyone’s been talking about its elemental magic (which reminds me of Avatar the Last Airbender if I’m being honest) and I’m quite intrigued.

Catch up on a series:
I haven’t hauled this yet, I got it from a friend on February 1st. It’s The New Hunger by Isaac Marion, a novella-sequel-prequel to his first book, Warm Bodies. It’s technically a prequel, but should be read after the first book. Yay zombies! I really enjoyed Warm Bodies (both the book and the film) and I’m looking forward to learning more about some of its characters.

Out of your comfort zone:
Maybe Grief is the Thing with Feathers by Max Porter. It’s short and is supposed to be sad. I think I’ll be in need of a small, emotional read after having so much fantasy escapism! I also shouldn’t keep putting books off if I hear they’re sad – what if I end up loving them anyway?

Okay I think that’s all for now! Hopefully I can get to finishing 1 or 2 of the (short books) within the timeframe of 6 days!

Are you doing this readathon too? Do you have a February TBR list? Let me know in the comments and good luck if you’re participating!!

If you missed my February TBR you can view it here!

8 thoughts on “Readathon: #TBRTakedown 5.0

  1. Ooh, I hadn’t heard of this readathon but definitely want to take part!

    Also good luck – I love Brandon Sanderson and the Final Empire is so fantastic, as are all his books. (Also it’s actually 7 now if you count the novella “Mistborn: Secret History” but it’s super short so very quick to read)

    1. I think I have that in his Arcanum Unbounded bind-up anyway! So I’m counting all his novellas as one book hehe! But yes, he has so many. If you take part feel free to link me to your TBR, I’d be interested in reading it! ❤

    1. Thank you, I’ll need it! 😛 The New Hunger is a book that just hasn’t been on my radar at all? So I’m really looking forward to it now that I have it! And I loved Warm Bodies too. ❤

Leave a Reply

