Book Tags

Book Tag: I Dare You

Hi there!

Today I’m doing a tag post, I don’t do them very often! Just going to answer some bookish questions, feel free to do the tag if you want to, comment below if you do so I can read your answers!

I saw this tag done on Kirsty’s blog here!!

Rules
you must be honest
you must answer all the questions
you must tag at least 4 people

Here we go!

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?
I want to say The Hobbit? But I borrowed it from my Dad, started it, then never got the energy to finish it. I tried.

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?
My current read is Frostblood by Elly Blake. My last read was Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman. And my next read will be one of my TBR Takedown picks which you can see here!  

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?
So many people love A Court of Thorns and Roses… but I couldn’t stand it. It was slow, boring, and Feyre had no autonomy. I was so frustrated by this book!!! (And yet I adored Throne of Glass, go figure.)

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?
Uh, Infinite Jest, maybe? It’s been on my shelf for 5 years. It’s just… very intimidating, okay?

5. What book are you saving for retirement?
Probably A Song of Ice and Fire… I read the first book, I tried. The others are so long!! They’re not a priority (AKA: I’ll read them when I’m 80, hahaha.) But I am loving the TV show!

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?
Sometimes I flick to the last page to see the total number of pages in the book! But I have to flick away quickly so I don’t accidentally read something! Honestly, that’s undone me a little bit in the past. Whoops.

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?
It depends on how well I know the author. I sometimes read them, sometimes don’t. Depends entirely on my mood.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?
Lucy from Narnia. She started my fantasy reading journey, it seems right to pick her!

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)
I know Harry Potter is a cliché answer but I don’t care. I grew up with it, my family read it at the same time I did, so that all of us could talk about it together. I come from a family of readers so this series really tied us all together, it’s just lovely. So, Harry Potter and my entire family! We’re forever making references to each other, the most often is “mischief managed” when we achieve something.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.
My boyfriend’s dad just handed me Water for Elephants and said, “I got it from an op shop and just finished it. Since you like books I thought you’d enjoy it too. You can keep it.” Free book, woo!

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?
I buy books for presents as often as possible for people close to me, if that counts?

12. Which book has been with you most places?
I haven’t travelled much. But I did read I Am The Messenger by Marcus Zusak on a cruise to Fiji. It kept me from getting super boat sick!

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?
No, the opposite. I read Frankenstein when I was 16. I had to read it again in university. Picked it up, read half a page, hated it even more the second time. Guess who didn’t write her final essay on Frankenstein.

14. Used or brand new?
Both! But I buy new more frequently.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?
Never. Not sure I ever will.

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?
I went to all of the midnight screenings for The Hunger Games series. I genuinely enjoyed these adaptations!! I mean, they weren’t entirely perfect, but they kept the intensity of the books and I really liked them. Finnick still remains my favourite, he’s so broken and just needs to be wrapped in a blanket, to be honest.
Also, Warm Bodies was pretty good. The books were different, with more detail (obviously), but the movie had a humorous but dark tone. I really enjoyed it!

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?
Well, Heartless made me hungry in the first 3 pages, when it discussed making lemon tarts. Mouth. Watering. And also The Chronicles of Narnia, I really wanted to know what Turkish delight tasted like.

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?
My boyfriend, because we have very similar taste. And my best friend, who’s recommended two of my current favourite books: The Name of the Wind, and The Art of Racing in the Rain.

19. My question is: Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?
My answer to this would be Memoirs of a Geisha, I adored that book. I read it as a teen but I need to reread it again soon! 

I tag:
Sam (youtube channel can be found here)
Mollie at Molliethereader
Tash (Twitter is here)
Steph at literaryreads
Casey at adoptabookaus
Anne at booksbootsandguacamole
Angel at Angelreads

That’s all for this post! Have you heard of any of the books I mentioned? Did you grow up with Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia as well? Leave me a comment, let me know!

12 thoughts on “Book Tag: I Dare You

    1. Yay, someone else!!! I want to say I hated it, but I feel like that’s too much? But I definitely didn’t like it. Never feel guilty for what you read and think! ❤

  1. I only read HP a few years ago so Narnia was my childhood world 🙂 And I’ll join you at 80 and reading a song of ice and fire I LOVE THE SHOW but got to page 200 of the first book and just couldn’t do it anymore, I liked it but I had just watched the show so it wasn’t a page turner also by 80 we may have a finished series to read 😄
    Thank you for the Tag it’s been so long since I’ve done one I need to start again 😀

    1. You’re welcome, can’t wait to read your version! ❤ And yes, it will HOPEFULLY be done by the time we're 80 bahaha! Narnia was just lovely, I really need to reread it and revisit its magic.

Leave a Reply

