Recommendations

Manga Recommendations!

Do you want to read manga, but don’t know where to start?

I’m happy to help you out and recommend some of my favourites! I love manga.  I’ll list a range below for you so that you can pick and choose depending on what genre you usually read!

If you have any favourites that I’ve missed, or newer releases that I’m not aware of, leave a comment and let me know!

Bleach
Ichigo can see spirits who are unable to rest in peace. His six-sense leads him to Rukia, a Soul Reaper who destroys Hollows (soul-devouring spirits). When a Hollow attacks Ichigo’s family, Rukia is injured in battle and transfers her sword and much of her power to Ichigo. This spiritual energy awakens his own strength, making him a formidable substitute Soul Reaper.
This is a very long (but popular) series, I’d recommend the Soul Reaper arc which consists of the first 20 or so volumes! 

Monster Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 9.30.38 am
I was told that fans of Death Note (below) would love this series. It’s a cat and mouse game about a serial killer and a doctor.
I did enjoy it, but have only read volume 1. As you can see from my photo I have volume 2, so I’m looking forward to continuing! Here’s a synopsis: Everyone faces uncertainty at some point in their lives. Even a brilliant surgeon like Kenzo Tenma is no exception. But there’s no way for him to know that his decision to stop chasing professional success and instead concentrate on his oath to save peoples’ lives will result in the birth of an abomination. The questions of good and evil now take on a terrifyingly real dimension.
Years later, in Germany during the tumultuous post-reunification period, middle-aged childless couples are being killed one after another.
The serial killer’s identity is known.
The reasons why he kills are not.
Dr. Tenma sets out on a journey to find the killer’s twin sister, who may hold some clues to solving the enigma of the “Monster.”

Death Note
This was the series that launched me into loving manga. I was lucky to pick it up as crime isn’t what I usually read, but the supernatural twist is what hooked me. A Shinigami (God of Death) drops his Death Note into the human world; if a name is written in this note, that person will die. The catch is, the writer must know the name and face of a person in order to kill them. Light Yagami finds this Note and takes it upon himself to kill criminals in the name of justice. He’s investigated by the detective known as L. This is an awesome cat and mouse game of crime, intellect, and Light’s twisted morals. SO GOOD.

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 9.31.16 am
Ouran High School Host Club

One day, Haruhi, a scholarship student at exclusive Ouran High School, breaks an $80,000 vase that belongs to the ‘Host Club’, a mysterious campus group consisting of six super-rich (and gorgeous) guys. To pay back the damages, she is forced to work for the club, and it’s there that she discovers just how wealthy the boys are and how different they are from everybody else.
This is such a fun, funny and hilariously silly series. It consists of 18 volumes and they’re over the top in the best way. Definitely perfect for contemporary fans! I am currently re-reading them, I’m only on volume 2. 

Fruits Basket
This is another series that’s perfect if you adore contemporary books, plus it features a mildly supernatural twist.
After a family tragedy turns her life upside down, plucky high schooler Tohru Honda takes matters into her own hands and moves out…into a tent! Unfortunately for her, she pitches her new home on private land belonging to the mysterious Sohma clan, and it isn’t long before the owners discover her secret. But, as Tohru quickly finds out when the family offers to take her in, the Sohmas have a secret of their own–when embraced by the opposite sex, they turn into the animals of the Chinese Zodiac (plus the cat)!
This is an emotive, often funny, series that settled right into my heart and I love the characters so much. 

All righty, hopefully at least one of these has interested you!
If not, you might want to check out Fullmetal Alchemist or Inuyasha. Both anime are series I adored, but their manga series are superb too! Fullmetal is about two brothers who know alchemy and fail awfully at bringing their mother back to life; one brother loses his body, the other an arm and a leg. They’re both on a quest to find the Philosopher’s Stone, plus one of them joins the Alchemist army. Not to mention the seven deadly sins exist. Goddamn, it’s so good.

As for Inuyasha that’s more of a fun-loving fantasy series. Much more lighthearted and silly. If you like quests and fighting demons, this series is definitely for you. Kagome can go down the Well of her family’s shrine and it teleports her to the past: Feudal Japan. There’s demons, monks, and a shattered stone that she accidentally catapults across the land when firing an arrow at it. Now they must put it together again, because every shard is a source of power for demons.

Have you read any of these? Are you interested in any? Have you ever read manga before? Let me know in the comments! ❤

Please don’t leave spoilers in the comments.

12 thoughts on “Manga Recommendations!

  1. I’ve watched most of the anime series of OHSHC and Fruits Basket and I love them 🙂 I’ve only read the first volumes of the manga though. Death Note is definitely on my radar, especially after I heard it pitched as Sherlock from Moriarty’s perspective! I’ve heard great things about Inyasha and Fullmetal Alcomist, but I can’t say I’ve heard anything about Monster. Great post!

    1. I can definitely understand the Sherlock from Moriarty’s perspective! It’s a very, very good cat and mouse game which just gets crazier as Light gets more evasive. It is so good!

      Inuyasha is definitely a more childish, silly anime. I would rewatch it for nostalgia though! FMA will break your heart, but it’ll be worth it. Yay glad you liked my post! ❤

      1. I definitely want to try to get to DN this year! I’ll be sure to let you know when I do
        Oh, okay. I can see that.
        I’ll bump FMA up on my list then 😉
        I always like your stuff tbh 💕

  2. This post is the best, Bec. I’ve read a little manga, but very little and I’ve wanted to read more for ages. I think I’m going to start with Death Note, but Monster also sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

