Reading Wrap Ups

FEBRUARY WRAP UP

Welcome to another monthly reading wrap up!

Below are the books I read! Also, my reading tallies are listed at the very end. I’ll likely increase my Goodreads goal when I get to 25 books. (But that hasn’t happened yet!)

feb

Norse Mythology – by Neil Gaiman
This cover was gorgeous, the hype was strong, but unfortunately I didn’t love it. I liked it, but this was the first book I picked up by Gaiman, which I think was a mistake. Reading about Loki, Thor, and Odin were interesting (they’re so dumb and bloodthirsty) but overall I just didn’t click with this book or its writing. I think I’d have enjoyed it WAY more if I’d already read his fiction, but nonetheless the writing was humorous and accessible, so it was definitely enjoyable to read. 
3 / 5 stars 

Frostblood – by Elly Blake
Oh my goodness, I got hooked on this YA fantasy with elemental magic. Ruby had such a great voice. I wrote a spoiler free review if you want to read it. But just know, this was excellent. A little predictable towards the end, but I didn’t even mind cos I enjoyed the characters and world so much!
4.5 / 5 stars

The New Hunger – by Isaac Marion
This novella followed Nora, Julie’s close friend in Isaac’s first book Warm Bodies. It showed how Nora and her 7 year old brother had to survive together in the zombie-infested world because their parents abandoned them. The zombies are unique, watchful and terrifying. They’re probably some of the best zombies I’ve ever read about to be honest. I really liked this novella but had to push myself to read it a bit. Not sure if that was just me or the pace at some parts, though.
3.75 / 5 stars
(I recently discovered that 
Warm Bodies book 2 has come out, so I need to get on that!)

Grief is the Thing With Feathers – by Max Porter
This was odd but symbolic. (Magical realism might not be my thing?) I couldn’t work out if the crow was actually present or was literally the grief in the minds of the grieving, but that’s okay! I may reread it in a few years. I did like it but I didn’t cry like I expected to!
3 / 5 stars 

Caraval – by Stephanie Garber
I’m reading this at the moment, I’m at about half way. I’ll post a review without spoilers once I’ve finished it! Caraval just missed out on being a February read! 

I also started listening to American Gods by Neil Gaiman on audible! I catch the train to work every day but can’t read on public transport, so it feels like I lose a lot of time. I figured why not try audiobooks; this is my first one! It’s 19hrs long so I have no idea when I’ll finish it. But I think I’m enjoying it so far.

I got into a reading slump at the end of February, unfortunately. I was busy and had less motivation to read. With the help of #TBRTakedown at the beginning of Feb though I got to read a few extra things. So yay!

Have you read any of these books? Have you heard about any? Do you agree with my ratings? Leave me a comment!

Total read this month: 4
Total read overall: 13
Current Goodreads goal: 25

10 thoughts on “FEBRUARY WRAP UP

  1. Hopefully next month brings new (and better) books! I really need to read Frostblood (especially because you rave about it) but not sure when I’d be able to get a copy :(. Hopefully the reading slump doesn’t swallow you whole. Great post! 🙂

    1. I hope the slump doesn’t swallow me whole as well, I have hopes that I’ll struggle from its clutches though hehe! Frostblood was very good. A little bit tropey as I said, but I just really liked the elemental magic and Ruby!!

  2. I hope you enjoy reading caraval. I read it this month and really enjoyed it. I haven’t read any of the other books you’ve read this month but I’ve heard a lot about frostblood!

    1. I’m not liking Caraval as much as I thought, though it was very hyped. And yay, Frostblood was quite good! Do read it if you get the chance! 🙂

  3. Can’t wait to read The New Hunger! I’m planning on picking it up in March and my fave part is the Zombies aswell I thing they we’re done really well 🙂 I really enjoy magical realism but I don’t read that much of it (no idea why)

    1. Yah the zombies were amazing, honestly. The development of them from humans INTO zombies is just so unique but terrifying?! I hope you like it when you read it!! I need to pick up his new book now!

  4. hmm I haven’t read anything by Gaiman either and was considering picking up Norse Mythology but I might read something else of his first beforehand. Thanks for the warning Bec!

Leave a Reply

