Reviews

Caraval – Review (spoiler free)

Synopsis

Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . .

Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

screen-shot-2017-02-28-at-10-19-17-pm
Title:
 Caraval

Author: Stephanie Garber

Pages: 407

Genre: young adult, fantasy

Released: January 31, 2017

Publisher: Hachette Australia
Link to buy book here.

Buy: Dymocks, Booktopia, Book Depository

 

My thoughts

Thank you so much Hachette Australia for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review! This in no way impacts my opinion in this review. 

The beginning of this book hooked me with its gorgeous map, its beautiful cover, and the letters that Scarlett wrote. And that first line: It took seven years to get the letter right. This book sucked me in with its intriguing premise. But after reading from Scarlett’s naive perspective, the narrative grew a little tiresome.

The writing itself was beautiful, and the way Scarlett’s emotions were described in colour? That was so unique and gorgeous, but at some points the writing was a little bit too flowery for me. I loved reading the descriptions of Caraval and its environment and mystical surroundings, that was very atmospheric, but Scarlett’s voice just ended up annoying me for a lot of this book (unfortunately), even if I did enjoy the world she was experiencing. I just didn’t necessarily enjoy her perspective.

I was also crinkling my nose at Julian and was quite suspicious of his manipulation. I mean he’s pretty, but he was also coming across as a jerk. Just cos you’re pretty it doesn’t mean I’ll trust you. Even …though… Scarlett… did. Sigh. I think Julian’s character didn’t sit right with me because I didn’t understand his motivation. He was mysterious though so I can understand why other readers were intrigued by him. And I can certainly see a certain appeal to him as the book gets closer to the end, but I wasn’t sold from the get-go, sadly.

caraval.jpg

The plot felt a little slow for me, it was very much just Scarlett coming to terms with fear, trying to find her sister Tella, and puzzle out who the mysterious Legend was. And also to figure out her attraction to Julian. She seemed to make all the wrong choices.

And that ending. I was intrigued, for sure! And at some times confused, horrified, and surprised! The heartbreak, the plot twists, the stringing along; I enjoyed it, but also some of the drama was a bit unnecessary. Pro tip: if you stop shouting hysterically and start talking normally, people may listen to you.

Overall, I didn’t feel empowered reading from Scarlett’s perspective (which is completely fine, I just don’t think this book was for me). I can be quite picky with YA fantasy, and unfortunately this one didn’t hit the high note that all its hype promised. Despite Scarlett making mistakes, she didn’t entirely learn from them, she just seemed to remain naive which frustrated me. She made one or two independent decisions and ultimately did drive herself to keep going, but she did most of those things because of attraction or fear.

I really wanted to love this book, but unfortunately, despite how gorgeous it is, I did not. I was going to give it a 3 stars but I realised I periodically checked what page I was on to see when I would finish it and that’s not a sign of a book that’s being enjoyed. There was hype, I had high hopes, but unfortunately this wasn’t for me at all.

Rating

2.75 / 5 stars

Just a quick trigger warning: this book did have an abusive father in it, as well as a suicide. 

Have you read Caraval? Did you rate it higher than me? Did you love Julian, Scarlett, Tella and the world of Caraval? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Caraval – Review (spoiler free)

  1. Hahah! I almost gave it one star but ultimately I gave it 2, because it’s not as problematic as some other books. It’s just bad x’)
    Glad to see more and more reviews that are more nuanced than the “omg it’s perfect” that I’ve seen for months from the ARCs readers!

    1. To be fair I’m 23, so maybe if I was younger I would’ve enjoyed it? But I don’t know! I definitely didn’t like it hahaha.

      1. I’m almost 23 too, but there are lots of books like that that I read in my teens that I also didn’t liked so I’m not sure it’s about age! ^^

    1. I love YA, I just think I happened to pick an unenjoyable one this time unfortunately! Give it a miss if you’re frustrated with YA, it won’t pull you out of that feeling (in my experience of it at least).

  2. This book was such a disappointment for me as well 😦 I ended up giving it 3 stars but I’m seriously considering lowering it because I felt like nothing – the world building, characters or plot – worked together that well. *sigh* and it had such a promising concept as well

    1. I know, I was going to give it 3 too but I just totally wasn’t vibing with this book? I’m sad it didn’t entice me. But I’m thinking I’ll just go and pick up the Night Circus instead, hehe!

  3. I hear you on this one! I had a lot of the same complaints but overall I loved the magic (and cover *cough cough*) enough to give it five stars. 😉 The most annoying part to me was that part with the dresses. It was hilarious and frustrating. Wonderful review!!

    1. I’m glad you found it enjoyable! It’s nice that it was positively received, I just don’t think it was my kind of book, unfortunately. Which is sad cos it SEEMED like it would’ve been, but oh well what can you do! And yes oh goodness, that dress part. Hahaha! Thank you! ❤

  4. i’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this book as much as you’d have liked :/ i really enjoyed caraval, it’s one of my favourite books this year, but i agree that it’s not for everyone. people want different things. i think the main reason i liked it so much was because it reminded me so much of the labyrinth and the books i’d read prior to caraval were my 2017 most anticipated and ended up being 1 stars. it definitely lowered my expectations for other books as i felt everything this year was going to flop lmao.
    great review!

    1. Yah, it DEFINITELY wasn’t for me. But I know how much you loved it! I knew I had some awesome books waiting for me, so this kind of felt like a bit of a barrier, too. But yah, unfortunately didn’t vibe with it. ❤

Leave a Reply

