Reviews

The Song Rising – Review (spoiler free)

WARNING: Reading further will spoil you for the endings of books 1 and 2! I have spoiler free reviews for The Bone Season (book 1) and The Mime Order (book 2) if you’re interested!

I will be discussing my spoiler free thoughts below on The Song Rising, so just warning you that since it is book 3, you may be spoiled for books 1 and 2 if you haven’t read them yet. If you read further just bear that in mind, this is your last warning!

Okay, carry on!

Synopsis

Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London’s criminal population.

But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilising the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging.

Little does Paige know that her reign may be cut short by the introduction of Senshield, a deadly technology that spells doom for the clairvoyant community and the world as they know it…

iTitle: The Song Rising

Author: Samantha Shannon

Pages: 363

Genre: fantasy, urban fantasy

Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia
Link to buy book here.

Buy: Dymocks, Booktopia, Book Depository

My thoughts

First of all, the prelude in The Song Rising picked up EXACTLY where the previous book ended. It hit me right in my brain and heart and oh my goodness. So, so good. Paige was possessing someone at the end of The Mime Order, and this conversation carried over into The Song Rising. We find out who the traitor is that betrayed the clairvoyants and favoured the Rephaite (resulting in Warden’s plan failing the first time around, so he was whipped as punishment), then Paige lurches back into her body and The Song Rising goes from there. AAAAHHH. WAY TO SLAM MY HEART FROM THE GET-GO.

The responsibility on Paige’s shoulders as Underqueen are approached realistically and at times, fatally. The way Paige handles decisions and power is so brilliant, you can just tell how much she has grown since The Bone Season and I loved it. Her tension, doubt, and longing make her seem so real. (Also I love her and Warden, they strengthen each other, but are also so fragile with each other, it’s beautiful.)

This book was a solid 4 star read for me for the first two thirds, but closer to the end, it got even more intense. Paige is a boss. Legitimately amazing. Her characterisation has toughened her up, even though it’s also torn her down, and if it’s even possible I just love her more for it. I also kinda want to give her a hug, cos heck, she definitely needs one. (Side-eyes Warden.) She’s so resilient. Girl can’t catch a break.

song rising

I loved the involvement of Nick, Eliza, Maria and Warden in this book. The whole group worked together and their unity is what drives these characters so much. I am struggling to write constructive positive things that I loved without spoiling everything in a mad display of fangirling. 

There was a hint of a possible trans character in this book? When she was talking about her past? Which I thought was epic, because gender wasn’t the focus, the context and narrative were. So A+ for that, give me more please. (Unless I interpreted it wrong, in which case, let me dream.) Also please make Nick happy; he’s my favourite (aside from Paige, obviously). EEP! So many unique, flawed characters! And evil ones. Grr, Nashira.  An evil villain makes for a brilliant story though, and Nashira is definitely up there in pure evil territory. The things she controls, the amount of power she has, is just terrifying. I don’t know how the group continues to rebel with what minimal hope they’ve got.

They set out to destroy Nashira’s and Scion’s control. They’re tested so much and they just grit their teeth and keep going. I’m living for it, it just gets more intense with each book and I am SO EXCITED for the next installment.

Unlike The Mime Order, The Song Rising didn’t end on as much of an abrupt cliffhanger. I’m all about those I-NEED-MORE-GIVE-IT-TO-ME-NOW cliffhangers, but despite The Song Rising concluding in a more rounded way, I still gave it 5 stars in the end. And that’s because its characters made me tear up, plus several plot reveals, yeeeees, give me moooore. 

Can I have the next book now please. Yes, thank you.

Seriously though, if you haven’t read this series, get started on The Bone Season. The clairvoyance and Paige’s badassery DEFINITELY makes for a captivating, unique read and I’d definitely recommend!! This is going to be a seven book series so strap in, get comfy, and have all the feels that this series offers.

It’s so, so worth it. 

Rating
5 / 5 stars

Thank you SO MUCH to Bloomsbury for sending me a copy of The Song Rising in exchange for an honest review! 

5 thoughts on “The Song Rising – Review (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

