Book Hauls

MARCH BOOK HAUL

Well hello again! As you may or may not recall, in February I was 7 books behind in my reading/buying Project 5 goal. (Read 5 books, buy 1, essentially.)

I was aiming to haul less than 5 books in March. I just need to stop saying yes.

Spoiler alert: I didn’t stop saying yes… My TBR hates me.

Oops.

King’s Cage (book 3) – by Victoria Aveyard 
I “bought” this with my Dymocks bookstore rewards points, so technically… I didn’t buy it…? I keep finding ways around my ban. Can’t be tamed. I’ll leave a link to the Goodreads synopsis for book 1 (Red Queen) here, but it basically involves YA fantasy, xmen-like superpowers, silver and red blooded people, and a revolution. YAS.

The Song Rising (book 3) – by Samantha Shannon
Okay I had to get this. I’ve read it, so it doesn’t add to my TBR shelf. Sooo… surely that’s fine, right? I couldn’t resist; it’s SIGNED! And it matches the old covers! I’m in love with this series at the moment. ❤ 
My spoiler free reviews of The Bone Season and The Mime Order are live! My review of The Song Rising can be found here too!

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 11.42.36 am

Coraline (graphic novel) – by Neil Gaiman 
A work colleague handed this to me, eep! I’ve been listening to the audiobook of American Gods and I’ve also recently read Norse Mythology, so may as well add some more Gaiman to my shelves. It’ll sit right next to Stardust, which is also waiting to be read. 

Strange the Dreamer – by Laini Taylor
I was so excited to receive a finished copy from Hachette / DateaBook! Thank you!! I have an arc of this book but now I have a finished edition as well. It’s so shiny and beautiful, this fantasy book is right up my alley, can’t wait to read it! 

Queens of Geek (ARC) – by Jen Wilde
THANK YOU PAN MACMILLAN FOR SENDING THIS TO ME! This is a YA contemporary featuring a nerd convention (which I love), diversity (which I also love), and romance (which’ll be the cutest). I’m so excited to be part of this blog tour – my spoiler free review will be live on May 15! 

Release (ARC) – by Patrick Ness
Thank you Walker Books Australia for sending this to me!
Synopsis: Adam Thorn is having what will turn out to be the most unsettling, difficult day of his life, with relationships fracturing, a harrowing incident at work, and a showdown between this gay teen and his preacher father that changes everything. It’s a day of confrontation, running, sex, love, heartbreak, and maybe, just maybe, hope. He won’t come out of it unchanged. And all the while, lurking at the edges of the story, something extraordinary and unsettling is on a collision course.

Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them – J K Rowling
Thank you Bloomsbury for sending this gorgeous new green edition my way! I am completely in love with it!!! 

I also bought 3 #LoveOzYA titles because I feel endlessly guilty that I keep meeting these lovely, awesome authors at events but I HAVEN’T READ THEIR BOOKS so there ya go. This puts me 15 books behind in my reading/buying goal.

Black – by Fleur Ferris
A suspenseful YA about a small town, a “cursed” girl in her final year of high school, whose friends have all died in tragic accidents. “If only Black could put all the pieces together, she could work out who her real enemies are. Should she run for her life, or stay and fight?” Fleur is lovely and I’ve heard brilliant feedback about this book. I can’t wait! 

Risk – by Fleur Ferris 
Sierra has meet a boy online, he’s apparently “the one”. She asks her friends to cover for her and goes to meet him, but doesn’t come back. Taylor finally tells Sierra’s mum that she’s missing; can they find Sierra’s abductor in time, or are they looking for a killer? 

Frankie – by Shivaun Plozza
Synopsis: Frankie Vega is angry. Just ask the guy whose nose she broke. Or the cop investigating the burglary she witnessed, or her cheating ex-boyfriend or her aunt who’s tired of giving second chances…When a kid shows up claiming to be Frankie’s half brother, it opens the door to a past she doesn’t want to remember. And when that kid goes missing, the only person willing to help is a boy with stupidly blue eyes … and secrets of his own. Frankie’s search for the truth might change her life, or cost her everything. 

Stalking Jack the Ripper – by Kerri Manisalco
Thank you Hachette Australia for sending this to me!!! I can’t wait to read & review it! ❤ A Victorian lady who secretly studies forensic medicine, leading her into a murder investigation. Um, yes please. 

Wintersong (ARC) – by S. Jae-Jones
A lovely Twitter friend sent this to me as part of a book for trade, thank you SO MUCH! I’m so excited to read this YA fantasy!

I seriously regret including comic and manga volumes in my buying ban. I can finish a volume in under an hour, so reading 5 books before I can get a new volume is actually self-inflicted TORTURE! Hence, when I received a little extra money as a bonus from work, I immediately thought of a COMIC HAUL. So uh, expect that soon, I guess?

Anyway… moving on from my uncontrollable hauling…

THAT WAS MY MARCH HAUL. 12 books in total! ❤ Thank you, as always, for reading! My tally is below, don’t look at it, I’ll burst into shame-flames.

Read total: 16
Bought total: 3
Haul total: 12
How far behind I am in my read total: 19 (lol oops)

8 thoughts on “MARCH BOOK HAUL

  1. 19 books Bec! Ahh you make me feel better for my book buying XD Although don’t get me started on my newly developed clothing addiction 0.0 bahahaha

    I can’t wait to see your revioew of Queens I’m nearly 100% sure mines on the 9th of May but I need to double check XD I need to get Starlight I’ve been waiting to read Gaiman and was recommended that I start with that book first 😀 Awesome Haul and well done on cheating your way around buying books!

    1. CLOTHING ADDICTION, YAS! So proud of you. XD
      Thank you, I can’t wait to read yours, too!!! I really want to love Gaiman but he’s not living up to my grand expectations of him at the moment. Hopefully Stardust & Coraline change that! Ehehehe, I will haul ALL the books. ❤

    1. I feel that. I should’ve done Project 3, not Project 5. Reading 3 books before I buy one is WAY more doable than reading 5 and buying one! GAH!

Leave a Reply

