Reviews

Strange the Dreamer – Review (spoiler free)

Synopsis

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way aroundand Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.


Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 11.34.41 amTitle:
Strange the Dreamer

Author: Laini Taylor

Pages: 544

Genre: fantasy

Publisher: Hachette Australia
Link to buy book here.

Release Date: March 28, 2017

Buy: Dymocks, Booktopia, Book Depository

My thoughts

After reading (and loving) Laini Taylor’s first book The Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I couldn’t wait to dive into the first book in her new duology, Strange the Dreamer. Laini’s writing is always gorgeous, dreamlike and descriptive! She does such a brilliant job whisking her readers away and into her imagination, where she will do with their emotions whatever she wishes.

I have no idea how to describe this book without hyping it up to you, because this plot isn’t slow but it isn’t super fast-paced either. It’s kind of like a flower whose petals unfold gradually to reveal the true purpose at the end.

I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH. I think the reason I adored Strange the Dreamer was because of Lazlo Strange, our dreamer. He’s so honest, curious, and beautiful. I wanted to read about his wonderment forever. He is on my top list of favourite characters. ❤

thumbnail_IMG_2498

I only have one negative thing to say, and that is, in the last 50 pages of this novel, I knew how it’d end. But I was still biting my lip the entire way to the conclusion. Now I need the final book in this duology. Now. I need it now. 

This character build up was just so beautiful and intriguing. Aside from Lazlo, I loved Sarai, too. And everybody else. Well, except Minya. Anybody that remains six years old and manipulative will always give me the heebie-jeebies. So good though. I wish I could say more about the progression of this story, but the plot is entirely about its build-up and I don’t want to spoil anything for you!

Overall I was enchanted by this book. I definitely needed to be whisked away into the Weep and its wonders. The dreamscapes, imaginations, and world were amazing. This was definitely my kind of fantasy book but because I mildly knew what was coming, it just missed the 5 star mark. Also, this is a sit down book. You’ve got to melt into its pages, not read 20 at a time. Trust me, this world is worth sinking into and experiencing, Laini has crafted it beautifully.

Again, I loved it. Please hand me the sequel now. I can’t wait so long for the next one.

Rating
4.5 / 5 stars

Thank you SO MUCH to Hachette Australia for sending this to me, I almost cried when I opened the package and this beautiful book fell out! AH!

 

9 thoughts on “Strange the Dreamer – Review (spoiler free)

  1. Your petal description is spot on! It’s the perfect pace, not to slow so it’s info dumpy and not to fast so we have no idea whats going on XD
    Lazlo is such a buttercup of a character he’s just so nice that nice doesn’t seem like a big enough word to describe him, he’s a good soul and I loved reading about him and seeing his dreams. I didn’t guess the ending so I was gasping like AHHHHH.
    Minya is so creepy that I love it, such a good villain trying to do what she thought was best and then stepping way over the line, plus child adult is scary as shit! Great review 😀

    1. EEE THANK YOU!
      Yes I loved Minya for that reason too but also: so creepy!
      He’s such a sweet summer child I love Lazlo so much. ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

