Book Tags

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books I’ve Read

Hi there!

This is my first time participating in this weekly challenge (created by  The Broke and the Bookish)!

Prompt
Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

I’m likely going to split this into two lists of 5; one list with 5 unique books I’ve read, and one list with 5 unique books on my TBR!

Without further ado, let’s go.

The 5 Unique Books I’ve Read

Memoirs of a Geisha – by Arthur Golden
“We follow Sayuri from her childhood in an impoverished fishing village, where in 1929, she is sold to a representative of a geisha house, who is drawn by the child’s unusual blue-grey eyes.” This story is compelling, intriguing, and I read it on holiday and couldn’t put it down. I absolutely loved it. 

The Art of Racing in the Rain – by Garth Stein
I’m including this because it’s narrated from Enzo’s – a dog’s – perspective, which is pretty unique in itself. But I also don’t read a lot of adult fiction and that’s what this is, too! It’s one of my favourite books of all time, I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve reread it. ❤ 

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 10.05.22 am

Attack on Titan (vol 1) – by Hajime Isayama 
This manga series is MENTAL. Here’s a synopsis: In this post-apocalytpic sci-fi story, humanity has been devastated by the bizarre, giant humanoids known as the Titans. Little is known about where they came from or why they are bent on consuming mankind. Seemingly unintelligent, they have roamed the world for years, killing everyone they see. For the past century, what’s left of man has hidden in a giant, three-walled city. People believe their 100-meter-high walls will protect them from the Titans, but the sudden appearance of an immense Titan is about to change everything.

The Hate U Give – by Angie Thomas
This YA fiction, inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, is poignant and definitely a subject matter that scores a place on this list. I adored this book, my review is here, please read it. It’s topical but also had me laughing, Starr is such a relatable protagonist.  

Illuminae (book 1) – by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman 
This is a pretty popular YA sci-fi but if you haven’t heard of it, the narrative is told in security footage descriptions, chat logs, images… and it’s a constant action-packed story. Basically it’s awesome. I loved the sequel Gemina even more. Can’t wait for book 3 to come out!! 

The 5 Unique Books on my TBR

In The Miso Soup – by Ryu Murakami
I heard about this from Dana’s youtube channel (andbookhoarding). It’s apparently a horror set in Japan and she was so creeped out by it that when I saw it on sale last year, I snapped it up. It’s been sitting on my shelf since, I’m finding the courage to read it. 

A Sudden Light – by Garth Stein 
This author (also mentioned above) wrote my favourite standalone book. I am terrified of picking up something else of his because my expectations are through the roof. It’s also another adult fiction so I definitely have to be in a specific mood for it. Pressure! 

The Fireman – by Joe Hill 
This is a dystopian (I think?) written by an author of horror (which I don’t usually read) so that’s why it’s on my list. XD Here’s a brief intro synopsis: No one knows exactly when it began or where it originated. A terrifying new plague is spreading like wildfire across the country, striking cities one by one: Boston, Detroit, Seattle. The doctors call it Draco Incendia Trychophyton. To everyone else it’s Dragonscale, a highly contagious, deadly spore that marks its hosts with beautiful black and gold marks across their bodies—before causing them to burst into flames. Millions are infected; blazes erupt everywhere. There is no antidote. No one is safe.

A Monster Calls – by Patrick Ness 
I’ve been told that this’ll break my heart. A boy, facing the reality of his mother’s illness, is visited every night, by a monster that wants the truth. 

Modoc – by Ralph Helfer 
I think this is a true story about a circus elephant? Clicking the title will take you to a Goodreads synopsis, because I’m awful. I started this book in 2015, my Pop gave this to me because he knows I love animals. Because I started it while on a holiday, I got home and it’s remained unfinished. Whoops. 

And there we go. Yet another peek into the shame that is my giant TBR. 🙂 Have you read any of these, or heard of them, even?

In The Miso Soup and A Monster Calls are actually quite short so maybe I could polish them off in a day or so!

Thanks for reading, until next time!!

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. I love this concept! I think I’m going to have to steal it for my blog one day 😏
    Definitely agree with Illuminae and The Hate U Give being unique! Loved them both so much!!!!
    I am really intrigued by In The Miso Soup, I’ve never heard of it until now!
    Great post, Bec 👍🏼💕

    1. These prompts are so cool, I saw Angel doing them on her blog and thought I’d look into it!
      Maybe we haven’t heard of In The Miso Soup because it’s so creepy. XD Ahaha.
      Thanks for commenting!! ❤ ❤

  2. In The Miso Soup sounds really cool when someone says it really scared them it always makes me want to check it out, The Fireman is on my tbr as well I love Heart Shaped box by him so I think I’ll love The Fireman I’m planning on reading it for Halloween xD Illuminae and thug are such good choices I loved them both so much 🙂

    1. Yay! I’ve only seen the movie for Horns, I haven’t actually read any of his fiction but my boyfriend read & loved The Fireman so I will likely enjoy it too!! I may read it for Halloween, OR In The Miso Soup hehe! So many choices. XD

    1. YAS I know, that’s why I’m so excited to read his stuff! Granted, I haven’t read anything by either, but I have high expectations. XD Yus, THUG was so good. ❤ ❤

  3. I loveeee The Art of Racing in the Rain! I keep an eye out for another book like it, but the other adult fiction told from a dog’s perspective that I read was so far in quality from this one. D: A Monster Calls is gorgeous, and it really is quite heart-breaking towards the end. I hope you get to read it soon!

    1. YAY AHHH! I’m so glad someone else has read & loved it!! Hardly anyone seems to have heard of it! ❤ I'm the same, my hunt hasn't turned up many similar books. I have Lily and the Octopus on my shelves so I'm hoping that's good. XD

Leave a Reply

