Book Hauls

Comic Book Haul

WELCOME!

So I got a tiny lil bonus from work. Naturally, I spent it on comics.

I mean, who wouldn’t?

Treat yo self.

OR

Treat yo shelf.

thumbnail_IMG_3097

As you can see in my picture, I got various volumes of comics I’ve already started, plus a new one here and there. I’ll let you know what they’re about. 🙂

The two Marvel comics, Astonishing Xmen: Gifted (vol 1) and Ms Marvel: No Normal (vol 1), are my first forays into the Marvel comic universe. Ms Marvel was recommended to me by my awesome friend Jasmine! And I just jumped feet-first into trying Xmen comics because since seeing the film Logan, I just needed more of this universe in my life. Cries. 

Astonishing Xmen: Gifted (vol 1) – by Joss Whedon & John Cassaday
Cyclops and Emma Frost re-form the X-Men with the express purpose of “astonishing” the world. But when breaking news regarding the mutant gene unexpectedly hits the airwaves, will it derail their new plans before they even get started?

Ms Marvel: No Normal (vol 1) – by G. Willow Wilson
Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear?

The other comics are series I’ve already started! Chew is amazing, please jump in. Its premise is so unique (chicken is contraband) and there’s an underlying sense of humour that’s so wry and quirky; it’s definitely a gem that hooked me.

Chew: Taster’s Choice (vol 1) – by John Layman
Tony Chu is a detective with a secret. A weird secret. Tony Chu is Cibopathic, which means he gets psychic impressions from whatever he eats. It also means he’s a hell of a detective, as long as he doesn’t mind nibbling on the corpse of a murder victim to figure out whodunit, and why. He’s been brought on by the Special Crimes Division of the FDA, the most powerful law enforcement agency on the planet, to investigate their strangest, sickest, and most bizarre cases.

Sweet Tooth: Out of the Deep Woods (vol 1) – by Jeff Lemire
Gus is a rare new breed of human/animal hybrid who was raised in isolation following a pandemic that struck a decade earlier. Now, with the death of his father, he’s left to fend for himself . . . until he meets a hulking drifter named Jepperd, who promises to help him. Jepperd and Gus set out on a post-apocalyptic journey into the devastated American landscape to find ‘The Preserve,’ a refuge for hybrids.

Saga (vol 7) – by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples 
THIS IS NOT A DRILL, VOLUME SEVEN IS OUT. Goodbye world while I devour it.

There you go – my little comic haul. I’m always accumulating manga and comic volumes and I’m definitely open to recommendations! Can’t wait to continue these series though, I’ve been hanging out for them all.

Let me know your faves? Do you read comics? Do you read manga?

I actually did a manga recommendations post if you’re interested in starting somewhere! You can find it linked here if you wanted to read it!

See you in my next post. ❤

14 thoughts on “Comic Book Haul

  1. I read no comics and no Manga, I read Manga in highschool but can’t even remember which ones 0.0 I really want to start though I have Saga on my to read list and Deathnote 🙂

  2. I never used to be much of a comic reader and shied away from graphic novels. Then I discovered The Walking Dead comics and MY LIFE HAS BEEN TRANSFORMED! Ms Marvel is one I really want to read as well, I’m here for the girl power Bec. I hope you enjoy all your new lovelies ❤ ❤

    1. Aw thanks Kelly!! Yes, TWD is my love as well. Admittedly I’ve been quite lax on the comics, volume 4 is next on my radar. I can’t wait for more zombies!!! And Ms Marvel is going to be a gem, I just know it. ❤

  3. I haven’t read a comic in SO long! They are just so expensive to buy, and I can never pick which ones I want to read first! Ms Marvel is incredible though, or at least the first volume was 🙂

    1. They are expensive!! It saddens me. 😢 I definitely treated myself with this haul hehe.
      Yay I’m so glad to hear you loved it, I hope I do too!

Leave a Reply

