Book Hauls

APRIL BOOK HAUL

Here we go again.

Welcome back!

These are the books I accumulated in April. I’ll be doing a separate Supanova Pop Culture Expo haul so look out for that!

Also, I bought some comics, they are here if you missed them.

The Cuckoo’s Calling (book 1) – by Robert Galbraith (AKA: J K Rowling)
A coworker just handed me this floppy paperback. I am overjoyed. I’ve wanted to pick this up for SO LONG but I just haven’t bothered to seek it out – now I have no excuse! It sits on my desk at work, so if I forget to bring a book, I have it as a backup.
I was also handed the next two in the series!! Ahhh!!! The Silkworm
and Career of Evil. Now I have to read them. A binge is in order. 

The Potion Diaries: Royal Tour (book 2) – by Amy Alward 
Thanks to my buddy Mark for sending this to me! I mean, it’s book 2 and I don’t have book 1, so I’m taking this as encouragement to purchase the first one. Eheheh. Enabled. 

thumbnail_IMG_3157

The Song Rising (book 3) – by Samantha Shannon 
I may have ordered a third copy of this book. It’s a hardback, signed, orange-stained page, limited, numbered edition, okay? Yes I have a problem. I can’t buy new books so I keep buying duplicates. (Goldsboro Books, number 300 of 500.) NO REGRETS. 

Strange the Dreamer – by Laini Taylor 
Yes this is a duplicate too. I already have an arc and a paperback BUT it’s a hardback AND has blue stained pages! I’m in love. 

Spellslinger – by Sebastian de Castell 
Thank you Allen & Unwin for sending this to me, such an awesome surprise! I am super excited by the premise for this YA fantasy, I’ll give you a taste here: “Kellen’s dreams of becoming a powerful mage like his father are shattered after a failed magical duel results in the complete loss of his abilities.” (Full synopsis, click the title.) This comes out in May so I’ll have a review up shortly! ❀ 

Godblind – by Anna Stephens 
HarperCollins Australia completely surprised me with this! It’s a debut fantasy novel, coming out on June 19. I’m super ecstatic to read it! πŸ˜„ This has been described as “a brutal grimdark fantasy debut of dark gods and violent warriors”. YEEES. Give me gods and stabby and intrigue! 

Honor Girl (A Graphic Memoir) – by Maggie Thrash 
I received this from Cait at PaperFury, so thank you! I’m so excited. πŸ˜€
Brief synopsis: All-girl camp. First love. First heartbreak. At once romantic and devastating, brutally honest and full of humor, this graphic-novel memoir is a debut of the rarest sort.

Skitter (book 2) – by Ezekiel Boone 
Sequel to The Hatching. I’ve linked synopses in both titles so you can click and read if you want! From what I can gather: spiders, apocalypse, terror. That’s all I’ve gotta know to realise it’s gonna creep me out, but I’ll probably enjoy it nonetheless. Thank you Hachette!!

Revival (vol 1) – by Tim Seeley
I bought this because my boyfriend took me to a comic book store. What did you expect? I can’t resist all the colours. Plus I’ve been eyeing this off for several months, it’s been sitting on my wishlist. Zombies!!! This counts to my Project 5 so I’ve added it to my tally. Lalala. Shame. 

Woop woop, that’s it! I always struggle adding the books I accumulate to my already bursting shelving. Oops.

Read total: 23
Bought total: 1
Haul total: 11
How far behind I am in my read total: 16

 

17 thoughts on “APRIL BOOK HAUL

  1. The copy of strange the dreamer sounds amazing! Sometimes you just need every addition possible of your favourite books, I can’t explain why, but I relate πŸ™‚

    1. Oh, thank you!! I don’t usually post tags on time cos I wait until my blog is a little dried up of scheduled posts, but I’ll add it to my repertoire. πŸ™ŒπŸ» Thanks!
      And I know right, aren’t those covers gorgeous. 😍😍

  2. your actually not as far behind in your read total as I thought you were πŸ˜„ I’m 10 behind and have a 2 books being delivered this week so… help. Awesome haul can’t wait to see your Supanova post πŸ˜€

    1. That read total will be going up cos of my Supanova haul. *cries* Worth it though, I think.
      Hahaha I have preordered books so when they arrive I will have to add them to my total as well… *hides*

Leave a Reply

