Reading Wrap Ups

APRIL WRAP UP

Hello! These are the books I read in April! Plus dot points at the end!

Let’s go!

The Bone Witch – by Rin Chupeco
This YA fantasy focuses on Tea, who’s a bone witch, and brought her brother back to life. She is found and taken in for training to become an asha. Which is basically like a geisha but with combat, runes, and magic thrown in. I have a spoiler free review here!
4 / 5 stars

bone

Saga (volume 7) – by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples
Oh man, my poor heart. This volume sunk into me and broke me slowly. I loved it, though. And the art is always so beautiful. ❤ The characters always throw me for six, I never know what’s going to happen. More please!!!
5 / 5 stars

American Gods (audio) – by Neil Gaiman
I listened to the audiobook for this! I summed up my thoughts on Goodreads here (they’re non-spoiler, don’t worry). I wanted to love this a lot more than I did.
3.5 / 5 stars

Queens of Geek – by Jen Wilde
I absolutely adored this book. If I start talking about it, I’ll start rambling on, so let’s just say: keep an eye out for my review on May 15, I’m part of the blog tour. ❤ 

Chew (volume 3) – by John Layman
As usual, the humour didn’t disappoint! The ending confused me a bit, but the plot and characters are always rich and I really enjoyed this volume!
3.75 / 5 stars

Release – by Patrick Ness 
I powered through this book, it was so quick and engaging. I loved Adam, the main character, and the commentary on queerness and religion. IT WAS SO GOOD. I’ll have a review up closer to publication date on May 4 so keep an eye out!
4 / 5 stars

Fool’s Assassin (book 1) – by Robin Hobb
Oh my goodness, I had no doubt that Hobb would slay my emotions again and she did just that. You can read my full non-spoiler thoughts in my review. But man, I love Hobb’s writing. Getting sucked into Fitz’s world again was so nostalgic and magical.
4.75 / 5 stars

I’m also currently listening to the audiobook for The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making and I’m enjoying it, so thank you Lissa for the recommendation!

More dot points! I liked them so much last month that I kept them around. XD

  • I attended a picnic on April 9 hosted by The YA Room book club! It poured rain so we huddled together inside & ate all the snacks!
  • I also attended the Strange the Dreamer book club meet-up, hosted by The YA Room! It was a lovely afternoon and DateABook were awesome & gave us some Strange stickers – I got Minya! ❤
  • We got a title reveal for Illuminae 3, Obsidio! I googled it, the Latin definition mentioned siege and blockade so I’m sure our emotions will be fine. (Help me.) Yes I’ve already ordered it. Eep.
  • I preordered The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan because IT’S HARDBACK AND SIGNED! YAAAS!
  • I posted several reviews this month for Strange the DreamerOur Chemical HeartsThe Bone Witch, and my love, Fool’s Assassin
  • I participated in two readathons this month, one was TomeTopple and the other was AVAReadathon, and I think I did all right? I read more than 4 things this month so that suggests the readathons did their job! Even if my reading was still a bit slow.
  • I changed my Goodreads goal from 25 to 50!
  • I reached 1,000 followers on Twitter! AHH! THANK YOU! ❤
  • The comic book haul I did earlier this month won’t be added to my Project 5 goal (yet). I’m thinking of adding it at the end of the year. Basically I’m putting off my denial that I’m a severe book buyer, but hey it works for me, so LALALA!
  • I preordered Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff from Barnes & Noble. Rather excited!
  • Despite sharing my large Blackmilk Clothing collection… I did as predicted and went and bought more. Not sorry. 

And that’s a wrap on April, that flew by so fast! I’m so excited for May, it’s my birthday month and I love Autumn, so it’s going to be perfect. Hopefully I’ll also read a lot!

Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Is there a genre you prefer to read over others? Let me know what’s on your reading list!

Total read this month: 7
Total read overall: 24
Current Goodreads goal: 50

9 thoughts on “APRIL WRAP UP

  1. April had to be such an epic month, the picnic, strange meet up, supanova! Man I didn’t even realise how many outing I actually came to XD Can’t wait for all May has to bring.
    I’m excited to read American Gods because everyone loves Gaiman so much but it’s not high on my TBR I’m glad I nabbed a copy for free though XD also I hope you’re proud coz all your shouting about Hobb has made me want to try and read Assassins Apprentice this month, fingers crossed I love it.

    1. FINGERS CROSSED YOU LOVE IT TOOOOOO!!! ❤ I really want to get excited about you reading it, but also cos it's not a suuuper fast paced book, I don't want to hype it to you? GAH! DILEMMAS!
      And I know right? We did so much in April!!! Here's hoping May will be awesome too, we already have the Begin, End, Begin launch on the 4th!

      1. I actually really like slower paced fantasy and expected it from the size of the book, I’m not sure there’s a large fantasy book that I’ve really found fast paced? There’s too many things to learn about the world for me to fly through high fantasy.

        May the forth be with you! I’m excited for the launch I feel like I haven’t been to one in ages XD Plus the anthology sounds amazing.

      2. Yay! In that case I am very excited for you then!!! 😀
        You had to say it, didn’t you. 😛 The anthology does sound amazing, I can’t wait to read it!

  2. Queens of Geek was so good 😍😍😍 I’ve really gotta catch up on Saga (I’m up to Volume 5). I love it so much!! Glad to see you enjoyed The Bone Witch too 😀 Sounds like April was a super fun month for you 🙌🏻

Leave a Reply

