To Be Read Lists

May TBR

Welcome to my reading list for May!

April was a success for me, I read more than 4 things which is my average, so I’m very pleased with that! My wrap up is here if you missed it, otherwise, on to the books I’ll be reading next!

thumbnail_IMG_3157

Spellslinger – by Sebastian De Castell 
I have high hopes for this. Thank you Allen & Unwin for sending it my way! It’s a YA fantasy, written by an author that’s produced adult fantasy before, so I am very excited at the shenanigans this book has to offer! 

A Court of Mist and Fury (book 2) – by Sarah J Maas 
Yes, I know, I haven’t read this yet. What am I doing with my life, right? If you know me, you’ll know that I hated the first book ACOTAR, so I’ve avoided picking up the sequel. My lovely friend Dzung lent this to me, so now it’s unavoidable, hehe. I’ve heard ACOMAF is leagues better than book 1, so I’m hoping I at least like it when I pick it up!

Fool’s Quest (book 2) – by Robin Hobb 
I love her books. I read book 1 last month and I’m so thrilled to be reading her writing again! If you don’t know where to start with Hobb, pick up Assassin’s Apprentice, but be aware that the plots aren’t fast-paced. They’re a slow-burning, world building masterpiece and I adore them. Even if I don’t like Fitz all that much, he’s just kind of an idiot but I enjoy reading his stories. I can’t tell you a lot about this book without spoilers, but click the title if you want a synopsis.

The Hatching – by Ezekiel Boone 
This is a horror / apocalyptic novel with spiders in it. That’s all I know, it’s all I want to know, I’m probably going to be terrified but end up enjoying it anyway. We’ll see how I fare. I have book 2 waiting to be read after this so keep an eye out for my thoughts. 

That’s everything I have planned for this month! I also have WintersongHistory Is All You Left Me, and The Final Empire waiting for me, but no promises on those! [Sobs at massive TBR.]

Have you read any of these? Did you enjoy ACOMAF, did you dislike it? Will you pick up ACOWAR? I’m betting a HEAP of people have already read it by the time I post this.

No spoilers please. ❤ Thank you for reading!

6 thoughts on “May TBR

  1. Like you, I wasn’t super impressed by ACOTAR. Honestly, I only picked up ACOMAF because I wanted to see more of Rhys. OMG. I’m so glad I did. Maybe it helped that my expectations were so low going into book 2, but they were so far exceeded that they were barely a speck on the horizon by the time I’d finished. The romance is still there, of course, but it’s pushed aside a bit to make way for a more solid plot and action and worldbuilding, and it really benefited from that. Luckily for me, ACOWAR came out about a week after I’d finished the second book so I didn’t have to wait like everyone else and I went out and got it on release day. Haven’t finished it yet because I’m back at work (at least for now) and it’s 700 pages long, but I’m almost finished and I’ve enjoyed it. Not as much as book 2 but definitely a lot more than book 1. So yeah, I’m really glad you’re giving ACOMAF a go and I’m looking forward to your thoughts. 🙂

    1. Ooh yay!!! I’m glad you enjoyed ACOMAF so much! I’ve had friends hyping it up to me, so I’m trying to keep my expectations low. But… yes, I do like Rhys. I didn’t think I would but he’s growing on me! We’ll see what I think of the ending! I have no idea whether I’ll pick up ACOWAR, we shall see. ❤️

  2. I finished Acomaf and I’m nearly done with acowar I’m hoping to read assassins Apprentice this month but now with asian lit bingo it might be pushed back ah we’ll see how I go XD

    1. I feel like Assassin’s Apprentice is going to be your version of my approach to Mistborn. IT KEEPS GETTING PUT OFF, SOB.
      I am noting down my thoughts as I read ACOMAF, so it might get its own little wrap up but WE SHALL SEE!

      1. man I’ve had Mistborn on my TBR for an age aswell I just don’t own it so I’ve been ignoring it XD I’m excited to read some Hobb now though *sobs in advance* If i love it my project 5 is going to SUFFER XD

Leave a Reply

