Reviews

Queens of Geek – Review (spoiler free)

Synopsis

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 5.14.20 pm.pngTitle: Queens of Geek

Author: Jen Wilde

Pages: 262

Genre: young adult, contemporary, #ownvoices

Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Link to buy book here

Buy: Dymocks, Booktopia, Book Depository

My thoughts

I absolutely adored this book. It was quick, funny, realistic and oh-so-ADORABLE. I picked this up after I’d read several fantasy books in a row… and it definitely felt like a breath of fresh air!

It was also SUPER geeky (hello SupaCon) and my nerd heart was in HEAVEN. There are pop culture references all the time but they’re woven so well into the character interactions that you don’t get lost reading them (if you’re unfamiliar with the reference, that is). PLUS I just loved how Charlie, Tay and Jamie all looked out for each other! They didn’t tear each other down, they had their backs, and ultimately I just loved this trio. Best nerds ever.

Also: they’re Australian. From Melbourne. YAAAAAS!

geek

I will definitely re-read this book when I want something adorable and uplifting. But also realistic. I really, really loved Tay’s autism and anxiety. I’ve never witnessed a character represented in the way Jen Wilde wrote Tay (drawing on her own experiences) and I connected so well with the honesty and rawness of her character. If I’m being honest this book made me tear up. So much love. (I’d say more specifically, but… spoilers. I’m just so proud of Tay and her decisions.)

Charlie was brilliant too. Headstrong but vulnerable, in the spotlight but wanting privacy. I LOVED that Youtube, Tumblr, texting and social media was included in Queens of Geek! It made the book that much more rounded, relatable and real. Charlie’s a Youtuber, which was why the trio got to SupaCon – she’s a vlogger AND is starring in a film. And Tay has an avid following on Tumblr. (Jamie is just a nerdy sweetheart.)

Overall this book filled my heart up with so much happiness. THAT MAY BE NERDY BUT IT’S TRUE. I loved the characters (and loved to hate them, see: Charlie’s ex boyfriend) so much and I need more people to read this book so we can fangirl!!!

The representation is brilliant, I didn’t even notice the pace, I just gobbled this book up, AND the writing was superb. I forgot I was reading; Queens of Geek just sucked me into the world of SupaCon and three best friends and I adored every second. ❤

Rating

5 / 5 stars

A huuuge thank you to Pan Macmillan for inviting me onto the blog tour for this amazing book! So much love!

8 thoughts on “Queens of Geek – Review (spoiler free)

  1. Oh, this sounds like such a lovely read! But I’m glad you think it’s still super enjoyable if you don’t get all the pop culture references, because that always worries me when I hear conventions and the like are part of a book. I’m just not up with that world and I’m always worry that will impact my enjoyment. I’ll definitely have to pick this up ❤

  2. Adored this trio of nerds so much! The rep, the romance, ALL THE NERDINESS it was just so happy making. I had tears in my eyes through the whole thing to and was just bursting with happiness for all of the characters and there lives. The con setting and aussies teens was so much fun, the tumblr posts and being on Youtube was also awesome to read about and felt so real. Amazing review Bec ❤

Leave a Reply

