Reviews

ACOTAR & ACOMAF – Review (spoiler free)

Hi there!
Welcome to my thoughts on A Court of Thorns and Roses & A Court of Mist and Fury, books 1 and 2 in a series by Sarah J Maas!

So, I was late on the bandwagon for this hyped up series. I started and finished A Court of Thorns and Roses in 2016, it was the first book I read that year and I hated it. So naturally, I put off the second book for AGES. But some friends convinced me it’s better than book 1…

And thus, I read it. My spoiler free thoughts for both books are below!
By all means, you’re allowed to love these books. I just personally did not enjoy them as much as they were hyped. 

You can also find a synopsis of each book if you click the title that’s in bold!

A Court of Thorns and Roses (book 1) – by Sarah J Maas

CaptureI honestly thought I’d enjoy this more, especially since I gave Throne of Glass five stars.
It started very slowly and stayed that way for a majority of the book, in my opinion. It only became interesting when Feyre undertook the trials, which occurred at the end. And even still, that was a little bland. However, the conclusion was intense and I thoroughly enjoyed it! But then it wrapped up extremely neatly after the story’s climax, which was a little disappointing. I kind of just wanted more throughout the book; more agency for Feyre, more plot to keep me engaged. 

2.5 / 5 stars

A Court of Mist and Fury (book 2) – by Sarah J Maas

CaptureAll right, here we go. I updated this post as I was reading, so you’re getting my thoughts as I read! 

Feyre seemed quite dramatic. The plot was very convenient at the beginning, but found its pace and I was sucked into the story. I looked up at 100 pages and grudgingly realised I liked Rhysand. Yes I like him, sue me. Gah. 

As I read about Feyre growing and interacting with the inner circle I teared up a few times. She (Rhys too) definitely has to go through a lot mentally, which really hit me. IT GOT ME OKAY I WILL ADMIT THAT. Rhys is so supportive and yet… almost conniving at the same time. I feel like conniving isn’t the right word cos he’s not… evil. It made him interesting to me but I definitely haven’t fallen in love with him yet and I’m 250 pages in! The flirting was a little over the top for me. XD 

I breezed through the end of this book. I don’t think I looked up, it was a tad addictive and I had to know what’d happen. I both liked and was frustrated by Rhys. ALSO another thing that frustrates me endlessly is the territorial hetero male trope, which was excused by a fae mating bond in this book. GAH. Yes it made sense but I didn’t… like that aspect. Male. Mate. This book is hella hetero. Which is why it got knocked down a star, it was a little repetitive to me in that regard. But other than that I guess I can get behind it, overall. I’m definitely loving it a lot more than A Court of Thorns and Roses which was boring as heck. ACOMAF has plot and more characters and it was constantly MOVING which was so gOOD. If it wasn’t for the inner circle, I probably wouldn’t have enjoyed this book. Feyre isn’t a character I connect with (though I hugely appreciate her growth!!!); the side characters really fleshed this book out for me. 

Okay, I’ve been converted. I was ready to hate A Court of Mist and Fury, but I ended up really enjoying it. That ending left me breathless, so much happened! I desperately want to know what happens next! And yes, I’m now glad I read it. My friends were right: book 2 was better. It was way better. 

4 / 5 stars

All right. I read it. I (grudingly) enjoyed it. I’m on the bandwagon, okay. ❤

I don’t own ACOWAR (A Court of Wings and Ruin) but no doubt future-me will read it, too. After THAT ENDING I have to know what happens!

Let me know if you’ve read these, or if you haven’t? Do you agree or disagree with me? Thanks for reading! ❤

 

7 thoughts on “ACOTAR & ACOMAF – Review (spoiler free)

  1. I totally agree with you about Feyre. Of all the characters, she’s the one I’m least interested in and I often find her melodramatic, though that did die off a bit I think. I was pleased to see the exploration of her mental health following the events Under the Mountain. Rhys’s, too. But, yes, the Inner Circle really made this book, I think. They’ve got a great dynamic and it actually feels like they’ve been friends for hundreds of years.

    1. Yes I agree, it did die off a bit and was pretty much gone by the end. They really do seem like they’ve been friends that long, it’s why I loved them so much! ❤ ❤

  2. I feel like you’re going to have such a love hate relationship with acowar and I am excite to see you yell about it, basically times three the word mate and male UGH it was so annoying but saying it in an aussie accent makes it bearable XD
    I loved acomaf coz it was so addictive but the inner circle is really what makes the whole series with out them it’d be bland and boring.

    1. I’ve heard ACOWAR features Cassian a bit, and I love him, so I’m not complaining. WE SHALL SEE. XD I genuinely hope I do like it but… ugh. I guess I’ll have to pronounce it as MAYTE whenever I see the world. Hahahaha!

      1. Cass and Azriel AH MY HEARTS I love them oh and Amren snark XD I want the e book just so I can see how many mates and males there are I swear it’s got to be over 10% of the word count… okay I may have exaggerated but YEAH I was annoyed

Leave a Reply

