Interviews

Harry Potter 20th Anniversary!

New editions of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone are OUT TODAY (June 1) and Bloomsbury Australia gave me the awesome opportunity of sharing this Q&A from the illustrator! I’m so excited for these to release, I can’t wait to add to my Potter collection! Be still my nerd heart.  

I hope you loved Levi’s answers just as much as I did. “Majestic badger” was probably one of my favourites, hehe.

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 3.53.29 pm

Questions from illustrator Levi Pinfold

How did you feel when you found out you would be creating artwork for the books?
Life was a surreal wonderland for an hour or two, then I realized I had to actually do the work! Harry Potter means a lot to so many people, so it comes with a responsibility.

Where did you start with the project? What was the first thing you drew?
A majestic badger.

What is your favourite piece of artwork from the Harry Potter universe that you have created?
I like the Hufflepuff crest.  It’s got all the best animals in it.

Which house crest was the most fun to design?
Slytherin. I’ve always wanted to draw a cockatrice and I’ve never had the opportunity.

Did you base any of your illustrations on real people or things?
Nope, it’s pretty much imaginary, aside from some architectural details that I stole from old woodcuts or engravings, and I did take some inspiration from heraldic imagery. As for people, I suppose when you work from your head the odd likeness of someone you know can creep out. 

Which image was the most difficult to create?
Gryffindor.  It took about 20 different versions until it looked right.

hp

Is there a person, place or beast from the Harry Potter world that you were not able to illustrate but would have really liked to?
Gringotts goblins, weirdly enough.  I find them fascinating. I suspect that they’re the guys who really run the show.  Even if Voldemort had been successful I expect he’d have to answer to them in some way.  Aside from that, the Forest of Dean in the last book – it’s where I come from.

Who is your favourite character from the Harry Potter universe?
I’m a Dumbledore man, and one day I too will sport such a magnificent set of whiskers.

What Hogwarts House do you think you would be in?
Pottermore tells me I’m a Ravenclaw, but deep down I think Hufflepuff is where it’s at.

How did your family and friends react when you told them you would be creating artwork for the books?
Ha, well I could tell my family were thinking, ‘What, you?  The kid that wouldn’t wipe his nose and was scared of mud?’ My fiancee said: ‘Awesome.’  Which it was!

Did you always want to be an illustrator? What kind of things did you draw as a child?
Like most boys, I drew a lot of superheroes, motorbikes, barbarians gripping severed heads and the odd corpse.  

What were your favourite books as a child?
I loved Winnie the Pooh when I was very little, then I loved The Lord of the Rings and just about every comic I could lay my hands on, then I accidentally read The Shining and things have been deeply confusing ever since. I just missed out on Harry Potter when I was growing up, which is a shame, because I would have loved it too.

How would you describe your own art style?
Time-consuming!

What tips would you offer to young people who are keen to become artists/illustrators?
Practice.  Every day.

Do you have a daily routine when it comes to illustrating?
I wake up at 8 every day, and work until 6 in the evening.  If things are going well or there’s an extremely tight deadline to meet I’ll return to work after dinner and work until 3 or 4 in the morning.  It’s hard work!

And there you have it! What Hogwarts House are you? I’m Ravenclaw-Gryffindor, but that’s not going to stop me from wanting all of these new editions! Have you read Harry Potter? What edition has caught your eye? Do you illustrate/draw like Levi?

Thank you for reading! ❤

And thank you Bloomsbury Australia for the opportunity to share this interview!

You can buy these here

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter 20th Anniversary!

  1. This is such an awesome interview! It would be so awesome to be able to look at this edition everyone is yelling about and in love with like I did that. I haven’t gotten myself a 20th edition yet but I’ll be getting the Slytherin on eventually : D

Leave a Reply

