Reading Wrap Ups

MAY WRAP UP

Welcome to my reading wrap up for May!

CaptureI Am A Hero (omnibus 1) – by Kengo Hanazawa
I wanted to love this but Hideo, the main character, is an ass. He’s just so weak and single-minded and weird. He talks to himself and isn’t assertive at all. Safe to say he drove me nuts. The zombies were the best bit and kicked in just over half way, but apart from that this volume was pretty meh to me. May continue, may not. Don’t know yet. 
3 / 5 stars

A Court of Mist and Fury (book 2) – by Sarah J Maas
I have my thoughts linked here. After hating book 1, I very nearly didn’t pick this up. But I’m glad I did! I enjoyed this a LOT more than I thought I would. That ending… just, BOOM, there goes my feelings. 
4 / 5 stars

Monstress (volume 1) – by Marjori Liu 
This was freaking BEAUTIFUL to read; the art, I could stare at it all day. I loved the story too, but it was a little bit overwhelming with all the information it packed in. I think it’d benefit from a reread. But other than that I’m intrigued by the characters, demons and magic! I read this as part of my #AsianLitBingo TBR!
4 / 5 stars

Spellslinger – by Sebastian De Castell 
This was so engaging, funny and interesting. Also brutal at times for a young adult book! It was such a good little fantasy and I was sucked right into it. ❤ I have a full spoiler free review here if you want to hear more! 
5 / 5 stars

Never Say Die (book 11) – by Anthony Horowitz 
This was a last-minute addition to my reading list for May! I won a proof from Dymocks and picked it up as soon as it arrived! It’s the next saga in Alex Rider’s life: he is now 15 and lives in America. It can be read as a continuation of Alex’s story OR you can start here if you want to read about Alex Rider for the first time. I wrote a review here; I loved revisiting Alex’s spy life and adventures!
4 / 5 stars

  • I attended the Begin, End, Begin anthology launch on May 4 and met a bunch of the authors for it! It was such a lovely night at Readings Bookstore with bookish friends, but it was also very packed and warm! I can’t wait to read this, hopefully in June! (We shall see…)
  • IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY! I’m now 24, yikes, adulting. I used aging as an excuse to buy books because really, who wouldn’t. (Haul here.)
  • Currently watching: iZombie and Avatar the Last Airbender. They’re both brilliant (completely unlike each other HA) and I absolutely love them! Check them out! I need to get the graphic novel/comics that continue the Avatar adventures!
  • I attended Free Comic Book Day on May 6 with my boyfriend! It was delightfully cheerful and nerdy. We met a Ninja Turtle.
  • Maaaay have bought a signed hardback of Assassin’s Fate (book 3) by Robin Hobb. I love her books. ❤
  • MY BOYFRIEND & I BOOKED TICKETS, FLIGHTS & ACCOMMODATION TO SYDNEY TO MEET BRANDON SANDERSON!!! I am over the moon!! Sydney Supanova, here I come. AHIOFHAIUDHGSKL!
  • I fell in love, 10/10 would watch again, with the new King Arthur movie. Meh about the plot, but the way it’s SHOT? And the EFFECTS? *knees weak*
  • I surpassed 90 posts on this blog! Which I’m pretty proud of. Keeping consistent while working full time is HARD.

Overall, I had a pretty decent reading month this May! Most of my books are 4 stars or higher (I’ll just ignore I Am A Hero, oops). There are DEFINITELY more books I wish I’d squeezed in, but I have so many lined up, they’ll just have to wait. This isn’t the first time that I’ve wished I was a faster reader! Oh well. Still got the rest of the year. ❤

Total read this month: 5
Total read overall: 29
Current Goodreads goal: 50

6 thoughts on “MAY WRAP UP

  1. Spellslinger sounds so good I can’t wait to ready it 🙂 I cant wait for you to read acowar (mainly because I think you’re going to hate it) opps? No but I would like someone to rant with I liked it but its so annoying and silly at times xD Acomaf is by far my fave of the 3
    Gah all the events this month were crazy cool and SYDNEY YAY!! You’re going to have an amazing time

      1. Bahahaha seriously I should have put it off too but at least it’s over I guess… I’m excited for the spin off books though which means that I am still trash for Sarah J Mass XD Ah well hopefully Tower of Dawn is awesome and gets me back into fangirl mode for her but I’m not that hyped for it (which is probably a good thing actually).

      2. Hahaha! I’m not hyped for her books anymore. I’ll pick up Tower of Dawn for sure! I ordered a subscription box for it. But I’m not going to be all OMGOMGOMG over it. I want to go into her books without being excited, cos I don’t want to be disappointed. (Can you tell that after Throne of Glass I disliked the direction of her series? Hahaha!) XD

  2. I’ve been told I’d love iZombie as I adore Veronica Mars and they’re both written by Rob Thomas, so of course I have to ask if you’ve watched VMars? I think you’d enjoy it! V is my hero! Also, it’s been so long since I read Alex Rider – what a blast from the past. I used to love those books!

    1. I actually never watched V Mars! But iZombie is awesome, do watch it if you get the chance!
      I know right? Such a blast from the past. It was so cool to revisit Alex!

Leave a Reply

