Reviews

Assassin’s Fate – Review (spoiler free)

Welcome to my spoiler free review of THE FINAL FITZ AND FOOL BOOK! As I’ve said previously, if you haven’t read The Realm of the Elderlings series, this will likely spoil you for what’s happened so far. It ties everything together, so BE WARNED.

My review for book 1 of this trilogy is here, and book 2 is here.

Otherwise, please continue! ❤

Synopsis 

Prince FitzChivalry Farseer’s daughter Bee was violently abducted from Withywoods by Servants of the Four in their search for the Unexpected Son, foretold to wield great power. With Fitz in pursuit, the Servants fled through a Skill-pillar, leaving no trace. It seems certain that they and their young hostage have perished in the Skill-river.

Clerres, where White Prophets were trained by the Servants to set the world on a better path, has been corrupted by greed. Fitz is determined to reach the city and take vengeance on the Four, not only for the loss of Bee but also for their torture of the Fool. Accompanied by FitzVigilant, son of the assassin Chade, Chade’s protégé Spark and the stableboy Perseverance, Bee’s only friend, their journey will take them from the Elderling city of Kelsingra, down the perilous Rain Wild River, and on to the Pirate Isles.

Their mission for revenge will become a voyage of discovery, as well as of reunions, transformations and heartrending shocks. Startling answers to old mysteries are revealed. What became of the liveships Paragon and Vivacia and their crews? What is the origin of the Others and their eerie beach? How are liveships and dragons connected?

But Fitz and his followers are not the only ones with a deadly grudge against the Four. An ancient wrong will bring them unlikely and dangerous allies in their quest. And if the corrupt society of Clerres is to be brought down, Fitz and the Fool will have to make a series of profound and fateful sacrifices.

thumbnail_IMG_3993Title: Assassin’s Fate

Author: Robin Hobb

Pages: 853

Genre: fantasy, high fantasy, adult fantasy

Publisher: HarperCollins Australia
Link to book here

Buy: DymocksBooktopiaBook Depository

My thoughts

I was absolutely captivated by Bee and warmed by Wolf Father at the beginning of this book. They lifted my spirits and had me rooting for their strength! Over the prior two books Bee has developed so much, her will in Assassin’s Fate was astounding. She’s so tiny but so steadfast. *wipes away tear*

I was thoroughly invested in Bee’s travels and escapades with Dwalia and Vindeliar. Hobb batted my emotions about like a kitten with a new toy; up and down constantly with tension, toughness, and suspense! It kept me on my toes and turning every page. I longed for Bee’s chapters when reading, but I was so swept up with nostalgia in Fitz’s chapters, too. ❤ ❤

thumbnail_IMG_3993

We’re visited by characters from the Rain Wilds series in this book, as well as several familiar faces from the Liveship Traders trilogy! It absolutely PAID OFF to read the books prior to this series; so rewarding. And the magics. THE MAGICS. Finally, finally, we get to see the Skill and Wit interact with the dragons! I had always wondered what would occur and it did not disappoint. Such a swirl of lore and world building and information, it made my heart so full.

Below is a picture (top to bottom) of the updates I made whilst reading Assassin’s Fate. You’ll notice by the end I just didn’t update anything at all. Mostly because I was sobbing (so good) and just had to know how it ended, so I stopped for nothing.

Capture

The conclusion was everything I never knew I needed. Wolf Father was the catalyst that broke my heart (again). Catalyst. See what I did there. The key characters that built the foundation of this book were all present and I sobbed for the last 50 pages (in a sad, but satisfied way).

Definitely, definitely read this series. If you’ve read the other Realm of the Elderlings books then the layers of character development and world building will be so solid and fulfilling for you. If you haven’t read the prior books, I can guarantee you’ll be hit in the heart anyway, because Hobb has developed her characters (grief, hope, connection, love) and the story arc so perfectly. (I haven’t stopped thinking about her characters and mourning the end of a series I’ve followed for 10 years. They’re all so real and believable and flawed.)

I would change nothing about the ending. Yes, it broke my heart. But it was also fulfilling. I want to read them all over again. I want to be frustrated, annoyed, fall in love with them, the magic, just… everything. I couldn’t love this series more. ❤

Rating 

5 / 5 stars

A HUUUUGE thank you to HarperCollins Australia for sending me this awesome book to review! 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Assassin’s Fate – Review (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

