Book Tags

Top Ten Tuesday: I haven’t started these yet?!

Welcome to another Top 10 Tuesday, this weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and of course, and I love participating. ❀

Prompt
Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

(Sigh, too many.)

A Darker Shade of Magic – by V E Schwab
I am behind. This is now a complete trilogy. It’s about parallel Londons and magic and sass. Basically everything I could ever love. 

Blood Song – by Anthony Ryan
My boyfriend recommended this to me! It’s an in-depth adult fantasy with intricate plot and an interesting protagonist. I honestly don’t know a lot about it and I’d like to keep it that way. I can’t wait to get into it, I have high expectations!

The Waking Fire – by Anthony Ryan
All I know is that this isn’t about dragons, it’s about drakes. I don’t even know how they’re different. (Maybe they’re smaller?) I think there’s also a quest? Honestly, I’m down. Give me quests and fighting and awesomeness. (The sequel is out in July!) 

Mistborn – by Brandon Sanderson
Yes, I’m counting the entire trilogy. It’s a heist set in a high fantasy world where characters ingest different types of metals to perform different magics (it’s called alomancy). Brandon described The Final Empire as a story that occurs after the hero has failed. (Like, Sauron going, “hey thanks for bringing my ring back”, thereby slaying the hero, and the story goes on after that.) I am so chuffing excited. AH. 

Wax and Wayne – by Brandon Sanderson
Another trilogy! This is Mistborn Era #2. It happens 300 or so years after the events of the Mistborn trilogy. I am ignoring the blurbs for these in case they spoil me, but I’m definitely picking them up once I’ve read the prior trilogy! 

These Broken Stars – by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner 
Yes this is an Aussie sci-fi trilogy. Yes I’m Australian. No, I haven’t read them yet. Excuse me while I hide in shame. 

Red Rising – by Pierce Brown 
All I know is sci-fi, possibly gods, and it’s action-packed. I don’t really need to know anything else. *buckles self in*

The Lunar Chronicles – by Marissa Meyer
I’ve just included the whole series here because why not, right? I thoroughly enjoyed Cinder (book 1, sci-fi Cinderella retelling) and am yet to get to the rest. I own them all so a binge is definitely in order! Gotta get on the sci-fi and fairytale retelling bandwagon!

The Young Elites – by Marie Lu
I’ve read this but not the following two! A dark YA fantasy with an anti-hero main character, PLUS special abilities? I don’t know why I put this series on pause, it’s seriously promising that I’ll fall in love with it. And yet here I am, staring at them on my bookshelf. 

Steelheart – by Brandon Sanderson
YES THIS IS A FAVE. I loved Steelheart so much. I just haven’t continued, cos I suck. So here I come, Firefight and Calamity. Brandon’s writing a new trilogy in the same world called The Apocalypse Guard and I am SO EXCITED about it, I need to catch up cos it’s estimated to come out in 2018 and I need it in my life!! 

OKAY THERE YA GO. I think that’s all. ❀

Have you read any of these? Are you going to go and add any of these to your To Be Read list? Let me know in the comments!

 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: I haven’t started these yet?!

  1. I’ve read some of these such as Cinder, Scarlet and Cress and ADSOM which I enjoyed! These Broken Stars I’m not too fond of but the cover is stunning 😍 great post Bec!

    1. I don’t know if These Broken Stars will be my kind of book, but I’m willing to give it a go anyway cos I love Amie. ❀ You haven't read Winter yet, then? Hehe!

  2. *GASPS* You haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles?!?
    I just started Mistborn (finally) after people have been telling me to read Sanderson for years. It’ll be fun to see if you like it when you read it! Great post, Bec!

    1. I only heard of The Lunar Chronicles when everyone was hyping up the release of Winter! So I was late coming to it hehe! πŸ˜€
      Yes, I hope you love Mistborn!! Read Steelheart and The Way of Kings, too. My loves. ❀ ❀

  3. BEC EEEE FOR ALL OF THESE! I loved Red Rising and I’m so glad I finally picked it up, it’s super cool and the characters are so well done πŸ™‚ You know how I feel about ADSOM XD

    I enjoyed Starbound it’s not epic sci fi its more space opera but I liked it anyways. Man I cant wait to start Mistborn too how did I not realise it was about a heist?! I would maybe have picked it up so much sooner if I’d known earlier. Great list! Hope you enjoy all of these ❀

    1. I didn’t know it was about a heist either AAAAAAAAAH! I think I didn’t know because I’ve wanted to know NOTHING about it before starting, so I can be wowed and surprised as I read it.
      I don’t have the sequels to Red Rising yet!! But I’ll start it soon regardless, you loved it so much and it’s inspired me to push it up my TBR! ❀

      1. Seriously heist book are my JAM and I don’t read enough of them, I need all the cunning plans and sneaky characters XD Plus adding magic just makes it so much cooler.
        I think you’ll enjoy it, I’m not as mind blown now that I’ve had a few days to sit on it but I do love it and can’t wait for the next book. I still need to buy them but when i do I’ll binge read both πŸ˜€

      2. HEIST BOOKS PLUS MAGIC ARE ALSO MY JAM. Why are we like this?! Why haven’t we read them yet?! Mysteries.
        Binge reading is the best!! I love doing that with series!

Leave a Reply

