Book Tags

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Hello & welcome to a quick Q&A blog post! I found this on novelcraving’s blog, but I’ve since seen it crop up on youtube and other blogs, too! ❀ (I think Chami from ReadLikeWildfire is its creator!)

1. Best book I’ve read so far?
Assassin’s Fate, no questions about that. The conclusion book to a series I’ve been reading for 10 years. I have a review for it here. It hit my heart in the best way.

2. Best sequel I’ve read so far?
Uh, see above? πŸ˜€

3. New release you haven’t read yet but want to?
If you know me at all, then you know this answer will be Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff. I’ve seen so many people with arcs (advanced reader copies) and it’s killing me softly. I can’t wait until September, I’m dying.

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 7.53.28 PM4. Most anticipated release for second half of the year?
OATHBRINGER BY BRANDON SANDERSON, BOOK 3 IN HIS STORMLIGHT ARCHIVE SERIES!!!

Side note: LOOK HOW FREAKIN’ GLORIOUS THIS UK COVER IS. It feels like I’ve been waiting FOREVER but that wait was SO WORTH IT. So bloody beautiful. Now I just need the book in my hands!!!

I have a spoiler free review for the first installments to this series here. This series is my current favourite fantasy series. I love it so much.Β 

5. Biggest disappointment.
I haven’t read it yet, it’s on my TBR, but possibly Flame in the Mist? I’ve seen people saying it was just “pretty good” and compared to its initial raving reviews, I’ve now got lowered expectations when I eventually do get to it.

6. Biggest surprise.
Probably Spellslinger by Sebastian de Castell. This fast-paced, gripping YA fantasy was sent to me unsolicited by Allen & Unwin and I fell in love with it. My thoughts are here!

7. Favourite new (to me) author!
Samantha Shannon. I read her first book The Bone Season at the beginning of this year and LOVED THE SERIES SO FAR. I devoured the 3 books that are currently out and I crave more. MOAR.

8. Newest fictional crush?
Uh, I don’t have one? But Nighteyes from Robin Hobb’s books made me cry all over again, so let’s say him. *sobs more*

9. Newest favourite character?
Kate from The Monsters of Verity duology!! She’s so strong and sassy, I love her.

10. Book that made me cry?
See question 1. Ha. Also, as much as I hate to admit it, A Court of Mist and Fury made me tear up more than once.

11. Book that made me happy!
Never Say Die, the newest Alex Rider book! It was packed with its usual action, plus Alex’s cleverness, and overall it was just awesome nostalgia for me personally, too.

12. Most beautiful book I’ve bought this year?
Monstress (volume 1) by Marjorie M Liu, it’s easily the most beautiful comic I currently own.

13. What book(s) do I need to read by the end of the year?!
IDEALLY MISTBORN. How long have I been putting off that series?! Slay me. Even my Dad is reading it. I am so behind.

And there ya have it!!!

I mean, I freak out about books more than once per year, mid-year. But here’s a snapshot I guess ahaha! Hope you enjoyed it!

What’s the next book you’re going to pick up? Are you planning on buying a new book soon? (I always am, I mean, come on.) Thanks for reading!

18 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

  1. Love this! It’s always the best when people Fangirl over things πŸ˜‰ I agree, Godsgrave is killing me with anticipation! But at the same time, I still need to reread Nevernight… I really need to read both Spellslinger and Stormlight! Mind you, my “mid year freak out” (read:semi-crisis) is not entirely about books (year 12 guest my soul – mainly because I’m so unmotivated but I want to do well πŸ™ƒ) And… that just got deep. I’ll hopefully get the Robin Hobb and The Bone Season next year? We’ll see. My TBR is already threatening to murder me, so… πŸ€·πŸ»β€β™€οΈ πŸ’•

    1. Ah yes, I was in that year 12 crisis once. Hindsight is always 20/20 but if I tell you not to stress about it you’ll probably lob something heavy at my head. So… good luck, you’ll do your best. And then it’ll be over and you’ll be able to relax. ❀ ❀
      Yes, definitely read Spellslinger & Stormlight!! They're SO GOOD! I can't wait for you to get to all the books you mentioned, you're in for a HECKIN GOOD TIME! ❀

      1. I think the issue is I’m so unmotivated I don’t really do much? Even though I should? And the minimal stress (I’m mostly in procrastination and denial) comes from knowing what I need to do but not doing it. Also, disappointing teachers… Thanks. That is true πŸ’• I can’t wait! But, like I said, I’m not sure when I’ll be able to start them… I actually own TBS though, so that’s a start

      2. Owning them is definitely a start! Hahaha!
        I know it’s hard but if you force yourself to study (I put my phone on do not disturb and turn off all wifi) then you feel good for doing it afterwards!

  2. I’m a little worried about Flame too!! Plus, I just can’t seem to pick it up, which is already disappointing because I was SO excited for it. I need to read Mistborn soon!! It’s on hold at the library, so hopefully eventually xD.
    Great post!

    1. Yes, very apprehensive. I’ll end up putting it off, most likely. Oops.
      Yes yes read it, read it!! I am so pumped up for it. πŸ˜€

  3. I am scared of what Hobb is going to do to me in the future 0.0 I may come running to you yelling so be prepared xD Spellsinger looks so good, I still haven’t got a copy but it’s on my tbr and I’m excited to read it (mainly cos Squirrel cat). Awesome tag ❀

    1. I AM PREPARED. Come to me with all your Hobb feels, haha. ❀
      It isssss! I'm glad it's on your TBR, it's worth it I promise! Squirrel cat is excellent. If you want to do the tag then consider yourself tagged!

Leave a Reply

