Reading Wrap Ups

JUNE WRAP UP

Welcome to my wrap up of June! This was a heckin’ month of awesome. I finished the last (so far) of the Robin Hobb books (The Realm of the Elderlings series), which have been part of my life for 10 years. Oh my god. PLUS, I met Brandon Sanderson, one of my favourite authors. AND I met Jay Kristoff (again hehe) at Reading Matters and he remembered my name was Bec.

I feel like I’ve ticked every fave author box this month. I am living. LIVING! Okay now onto what I read!

Fool’s Quest (book 2) – by Robin Hobb 
This book squeezed my heart. I loved it. The beginning took a while to work its way into me but once it wriggled in, it had me and wouldn’t let me go. The ending wasn’t as climatic as I thought it’d be, but I am definitely intrigued for the final book!!!! I wrote a spoiler free review for more detailed thoughts, read it here.
4.5 / 5 stars

Assassin’s Fate (book 3) – by Robin Hobb
Oh my goodness, this was a stay-up-to-1am-sobbing type of book. It was brilliant, I loved it, I relished every character and I was so pleased and heartbroken and happy with its conclusion. You can read my full thoughts here! ❤ 
5 / 5 stars

Our Dark Duet (book 2) – by V E Schwab
I loved this book. Kate was so distinct and sassy and such a fighter (loved her) and August lost his way. I just love them both so much, Schwab crafted them so well. I’ll post a spoiler free review for you very soon!
4.5 / 5 stars

  • I went to Reading Matters (a bookish conference with panels) on June 4, I did a wrap up here! It was so fun and inspiring!!
  • I finally downloaded Brandon Sanderson’s writing podcast from iTunes. You can find info about it here. Time to listen and get motivated!
  • I’ve pre-ordered two copies of Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff, because I need it. I’m madly searching for an arc (advanced reader copy) to get an early fix. Not desperate at all. 😛
  • WE GOT A COVER FOR OATHBRINGER! I showed it in my Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag. OMG IT IS GORGEOUS! I love it so much. I have to wait until November 14 for the actual book, ahhhh.

Supanova Sydney was phenomenal. I met Brandon a few times (yay past-me for purchasing skip-the-line tickets) and he remembered me and chatted. PLUS I got to see him speak on a few panels over the weekend I was there, and he’s just so confident and clever and nerdy. He didn’t talk down to anyone, he shared his knowledge and perspective on writing. He has so many essays that I MUST READ. And his podcast Writing Excuses which I’m totally going to devour. Honestly, when I arrived back in Melbourne, I felt mentally rejuvenated and so creative. Thank you for coming out to Australia, Brandon! Also, Oathbringer, the final revision, was done in Sydney. So the book was officially finished in Australia. WOOHOO! ❤ Can’t wait for November 14!!!! YAAAS!

My boyfriend and I also met Chris Hemsworth (it’s a photo of a photo, pls ignore the glare). So awesome, such a lovely chilled out dude. ❤ ❤

I honestly wish I read more this month, but as you can see, it was a pretty busy one! I finished an 850 page Hobb book, so I’m good. I also upped my Goodreads to 80 because why not. Let’s do this.

Total read this month: 3
Total read overall: 32
Current Goodreads goal: 80

9 thoughts on “JUNE WRAP UP

  1. THOR! Syd supernova looked so fun! Skip passes sound awesome. Yay to VE *shakes you till you pick up ADSOM* I have ODD on my TBR for this month and can’t wait to read it 🙂

    1. It WAAAAAAAAS! I really hope there are more panels at Melbourne Supanova, cos they were one of the highlights at Sydney. I just might not have noticed the Melb ones before!!
      ADSOM WILL GET READ V SOON I PROMISE. ❤ I hope you love it, I really did. 😀

      1. I went to 1 panel at Supanova but yes I agree I love listening to them! I also didn’t realise Sanderson had a podcast, consider that added to my to do list 😀

Leave a Reply

