Book Hauls

JUNE BOOK HAUL

Welcome to my book haul for the month of June! We started this month off waaaaay in the red, plus I bought another book at a conference. I just can’t help myself, can I?

ANYWAY: here’s what my bursting shelves accumulated this month! (Spoiler: it is many.)

Spark – by Rachael Craw
A speculative YA fiction book featuring super powers? That is honestly all I needed to know; I am in. Plus, Rach was so engaging and chatty at #ReadingMatters where I was lucky enough to say hello to her! Such a sweetie. Can’t wait to read her book/s! 

TOD

My Lovely Frankie – by Judith Clarke 
“A masterful, moving story about a teenage boy caught between faith and love.” This sounds like a queer YA story set in the 1950s and it’s by an Australian author. I’d never heard of it, so thank you Allen & Unwin for the surprise package! This sounds beautiful.

Our Dark Duet – by V E Schwab 
This is the sequel to This Savage Song, a morally ambiguous YA where monsters are manifested by dark acts of violence. Kate and August are the two protagonists (human and monster) and I can’t wait TO READ MORE ABOUT THEMMMM AHHH! Thank you Newsouth Books for sending this my way!! 

The Rise and Fall of D.O.D.O – by Neal Stephenson & Nicole Galland
Thank you HarperCollins, this synopsis has me hooked! 
“When Melisande Stokes, an expert in linguistics and languages, accidently meets military intelligence operator Tristan Lyons in a hallway at Harvard University, it is the beginning of a chain of events that will alter their lives and human history itself. The young man from a shadowy government entity approaches Mel, a low-level faculty member, with an incredible offer. The only condition: she must sign a nondisclosure agreement in return for the rather large sum of money.
Tristan needs Mel to translate some very old documents, which, if authentic, are earth-shattering. They prove that magic actually existed and was practiced for centuries. But the arrival of the scientific revolution and the Age of Enlightenment weakened its power and endangered its practitioners.” 

The Dark Prophecy (book 2) – by Rick Riordan 
I preordered this a few months ago and it finally arrived!! It’s not the cover I wanted, but that’s my fault. At least it’s signed!! 😀 I can’t wait to continue reading Apollo’s adventures~!

Corpselight (book 2) – by Angela Slatter 
Thank you Hachette Australia for sending this to me!!! It’s book 2 (first book is Vigil) in an Australian-based urban fantasy series. I can’t wait to read it, they’re intriguing and a lil bit gritty. Gimme more Verity Fassbinder, yas! 

Blackwing – by Ed McDonald 
I received this for free from Hachette (The Realm) when signing up to their newsletter at Sydney Supanova. It’s a gorgeous black stained-page proof copy. It seems like a gritty fantasy featuring mystery, murder and sorcery. I am so game. 

Legion of Flame (book 2) – by Anthony Ryan
I impulse-bought this at Sydney Supanova. I’m not even ashamed because I have all of his other books so far, too. I am going to binge them. (His first book in this series is called The Waking Fire, and his other trilogy starts with Blood Song.)

Legion of the Emperor’s Soul – by Brandon Sanderson 
I bought this at Supanova Sydney, I’m not even sorry. I met Brandon, he is amazing, so I got an extra book for him to sign. Whew! It’s a little novella, I don’t know what it’s about, but as usual I’m impressed with his work so I expect this will wow me! It’s currently slotted on my shelf and is looking quite pretty. 

The Painted Man – by Peter V Brett
Demons, fantasy, a farmer boy… this screams the humble beginnings trope and I am ALL FOR IT. It’s the first in a series. 😀 

Um, I think that’s it. I have sinned. But I also plan on unhauling 40+ books this month (or at least shortly, they’re in stacks) so I’m using that as a slim justification.

I think my math is correct. Meh! What’s a book you’ve bought this month? ❤

Read total: 32
Bought total: 5
Haul total: 10
How far behind I am in my read total: 32 (at this point I’m just lying on the floor)

3 thoughts on “JUNE BOOK HAUL

  1. EPIC bookhaul! 🙌🏼 I hope you enjoy all of your new books, they look and sound wonderful 😃 I’m currently writing my One Dark Duet review & all I can say is I wish you luck but all of us who have read it are still trailing after the pieces of our broken hearts 😫😂 happy reading 💜

Leave a Reply

