Reviews

Vigil – Mini Review (spoiler free)

Welcome to a mini, spoiler free, review of Vigil by Angela Slatter. Book two Corpselight is out this July so I thought I’d share a few of my thoughts on the first book which came out last year! Look out for my review of Corpselight for the blog tour on July 27!

Synopsis

Verity Fassbinder has her feet in two worlds. The daughter of one human and one Weyrd parent, she has very little power herself, but does claim unusual strength – and the ability to walk between us and the other – as a couple of her talents. As such a rarity, she is charged with keeping the peace between both races, and ensuring the Weyrd remain hidden from us.

But now Sirens are dying, illegal wine made from the tears of human children is for sale – and in the hands of those Weyrd who hold with the old ways – and someone has released an unknown and terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane.

And Verity must investigate – or risk ancient forces carving our world apart.

CaptureTitle: Vigil

Author: Angela Slatter

Pages: 400

Genre: urban fantasy

Publisher: Hachette Australia
Link to buy book here.

Buy: DymocksBooktopiaBook Depository

My thoughts

I didn’t realise how much I would enjoy this book. It was a tantalizing mixture of crime combined with the supernatural and I loved it! Verity is sarcastic and driven, and often I’d find myself laughing aloud at her observations or comments. Plus, the supporting characters Bela, David, Ziggi, Mel and Lizzie (and a whole host of others) were incredible; all had their own quirks and personalities, I could visualize them alongside Verity without a problem.

Capture

It was also refreshing to read about mythological creatures like sirens, especially the way they’re conveyed in Vigil: they’re arrogant and private, with sharp claws and teeth. Not romanticized at all, especially by Verity’s blatant, sarcastic voice. And all in Brisbane, YAAAS AUSTRALIA! So refreshing to see urban fantasy in my own country when I’m so used to reading about it in New York, for example!

Overall I was thoroughly captured by this! I loved the mythology, the writing was excellent and engaging, and the story twisted in ways I didn’t expect. I’ll definitely be picking up the sequel when it comes out!! If you enjoy crime, urban fantasy, or the supernatural, I am positive you will love this.

Rating 

4.5 / 5 stars

7 thoughts on “Vigil – Mini Review (spoiler free)

  1. I’ll definitely be checking this book out further! I love mini-reviews! I always write so much. Thanks for introducing the book to me, and for an awesome review.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    1. Yay, I hope you enjoy it! 🙂
      I would’ve written more, but this was before I was a blogger and I wrote this on Goodreads first hehe! My proper reviews are definitely longer!
      I think you’re doing great as a newbie, just post regularly and interact a lot and you’ll be set. 🙂

Leave a Reply

