Reviews

Corpselight – Review (spoiler free)

Welcome to my review for Corpselight, thank you Hachette for inviting me to be part of the blog tour!

If you haven’t read Vigil, there will be spoilers for how it ends in this review, as Corpselight is book 2. You can read about Vigil here. Otherwise, welcome!

Synopsis

Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds.

Verity’s all about protecting her city, but right now that’s mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council – after all, it’s hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you’re really, really pregnant.

An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for ‘Unusual Happenstance’. That’s not usually a clause Normals use – it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing – but Susan Beckett’s claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she’s still insisting she doesn’t need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin.

V’s first lead takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it’s clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful…

CaptureTitle: Corpselight

Author: Angela Slatter

Pages: 400

Genre: urban fantasy, fantasy

Publisher: Hachette Australia
Link to buy book here

Buy: DymocksBooktopiaBook Depository

My thoughts

I actually forgot that Verity was pregnant at the end of Vigil so when Corpselight opened I was initially quite confused for a moment. Ahaha! My love for Verity remained, though, despite this massive change of physique to her character. Her sarcasm, potty mouth and tenacity did not diminish at all and for the entirety of the book she was incredibly kick-ass. That said she was also vulnerable and motherly at times which was brilliant to see; I loved that she was both, not one or the other.

Verity’s love of cake and mystery spurned me on to read Corpselight and I am so happy that I didn’t guess the plot. I usually guess mystery-like books at the beginning, but this definitely kept me hanging on!

Also: I love David. He is such a cute bean and should be protected at all costs. Family and trust played such an important role in this book and I loved Verity’s honesty and drive. Ah, can every character be like her?! I loved her to bits!!!

thumbnail_IMG_4672

I also loved the character dynamic between Verity, her friends, and family. Certain parts were hits in the gut, surprising, and emotional, too. I really cared about this little family and I was rooting for Verity the entire time. I want to be specific but ahhh spoilers, so many spoilers. 

I can’t say TOO MUCH without spoiling you, so I will stop shortly and just urge you to read it. (GO. GOOOO.) The way the plot is stretched at certain points, but also tied up with reveals in others, was thoroughly fulfilling and I cannot wait to read the next installment!

Verity always packs a punch and I had NO IDEA how this could possibly continue but I was surprised more than once. Totally loved it, would 10/10 recommend, go read this book if you love snark, dry humour, mystery, and the supernatural. Go, now!!

Rating

4.75 / 5 stars

Thank you Hachette Australia again for providing me a copy in exchange for an honest review! 

3 thoughts on “Corpselight – Review (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

