Readathon

Readathon: #TomeTopple

Welcome to my Tome Topple TBR!
I’ve done this readathon twice in the past, it’s really great for motivating me to read longer books, even if I only read 1 or 2!

When
August 4 – August 17 (starts midnight in your timezone)

Challenges
Books must be over 500 pages!
Read more than 1 tome
Read a graphic novelย 
Read a tome that’s part of a series
Buddy read a tome
Read an adult novel

These challenges are completely optional, but I like TRYING to meet them! I usually fall over at the buddy read & graphic novel challenges but that’s okay! Here’s what I’ll be reading!

thumbnail_IMG_4753

The books in the picture above will be my (hopeful) TBR pile for this readathon. I’m hoping to at least finish 1, plus I’ve already started 1, so I have hope!

A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue – by Mackenzie Lee
(513 pages)
I’ve already started this but had to put it down in favour of review books. It’s funny, witty, and I’ve fallen in love with it. I’m just under half way through, so hoping this readathon will push me to actually get it finished!ย 

King’s Cage (book 3) – by Victoria Aveyard
(512 pages)
I’ve had this book since FEBRUARY. I was raving about it, then I bought it, and it has remained UNREAD. Why am I so crap at series. I aim to buddy read this with Sarah closer to the end of #TomeTopple!ย 

Godblind – by Anna Stephens
(497 pages)
I know this isn’t 500 pages, but it’s a review book I’ve been neglecting because I suck, so I’m not going to ignore it for the sake of being 3 pages short. It’s a grimdark debut fantasy which I’ve seen mixed thoughts on, so I’m looking forward to seeing what I think about it. Hopefully I like it.

That’s it for this round of #TomeTopple! It’ll intersect with #TheReadingQuest (another readathon) beginning in mid-August. So I’ll have a post up about that shortly, too!

I also wanted to participate in ARC August, another readathon where you just read arcs (old and new). Godblind and Gentleman’s Guide are both arcs, so they’d fit! Plus I acquired Gap Year in Ghost Town by Michael Pryor which I’ve started and am loving. And I think Godsgrave (EEEEEP!!) will arrive this month, too. So I may chuck some of my planned TBR out the window!!

Do you participate in readathons? What’s a long book on your TBR pile? Thank you for reading!

16 thoughts on “Readathon: #TomeTopple

  1. Looks like some cool books there ๐Ÿ˜! Let me know what you think of King’s Cage! I’m so 50/50 with the series atm but I have to see it through now! Don’t feel bad about the ditch I bought A Court of Thorns and Roses & did the same thing, we need a cheeky break sometimes ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    1. Ya I know what you mean about the series, I’m hoping to enjoy King’s Cage. This series is my trash love so I’m hoping I can see past it’s discrepancies hahaha. I plowed through ACOTAR and hated it, but ACOMAF made it worth it. Best of luck hahaha! โค

  2. I don’t normally do readathons because I’m such a slow reader, but I will be doing The Reading Quest later this month! From memory I think the biggest book on my TBR is The Desert Spear by Peter V Brett with 580 pages :p
    YOU’VE GOT THIS BEC!!!

    1. AH GOT DIS. XD
      I can’t waaaait I hope you love The Reading Quest, we shall unite and conquer our TBR piles! (Somewhat!)
      Ooh I have The Painted Man by him, really need to get started haha.

    1. Yes, they’re raving about it for good reason! It’s one I’ve already started and aim to finish, and so far I’m absolutely loving it! Shall check out your post now. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. I think you’ll be able to smash these out! Gentlemans guide is so addicting once you get stuck into it and Vic Aveyards writing flows pretty well ๐Ÿ™‚ I know this technically starts today (for us aussies) but I’ve decided I’m already making things diffcult for myself and started reading Gap Year in Ghost town instead of my first tome 0.0 Hopefully your more on track then I seem to be XD Great TBR Bec โค

    1. I hope those two go quickly! It’s Godblind I’m worried about, it’s a pretty dense fantasy but the font is pretty decent size so I should be okay! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Hahaha Gap Year in Ghost Town is really great & quick, I bet you’ll smash it in no time!!!

  4. Good luck!! I know you’ve already read most of these and I’m late commenting on your posts ahaha. I could never do Tome Topple because I read way too slow therefore a 500 page book would probably take me the whole month ๐Ÿ˜‚

    1. I’ve actually only read Gentleman’s Guide! But one is better than none. XD It’s better to work yourself up to reading 500 page books, I know a lot of YA is usually shorter!

Leave a Reply

