Reviews

The Lyre Thief – Review (spoiler free)

Welcome to my review of The Lyre Thief, my thoughts to follow PLUS a giveaway so stay tuned!

Synopsis

Her Serene Highness, Rakaia, Princess of Fardohnya, is off to Hythria, where her eldest sister is now the High Princess, to find herself a husband, and escape the inevitable bloodbath in the harem when her brother takes the throne.

Rakaia is not interested in marrying anyone, least of all some brute of a Hythrun Warlord she’s never met, but she has a plan to save herself from that, too. If she can just convince her baseborn sister, Charisee, to play along, she might actually get away with it.

But there is trouble brewing across the continent. High Prince of Hythria, Damin Wolfblade, must head north to save the peace negotiated a decade ago between the Harshini, Hythria, Fardohnya, Medalon and Karien. He must leave behind an even more dangerous conflict brewing between his wife and his powerful mother, Princess Marla.

…And in far off Medalon, someone has stolen the music.

Their quest for the tiny stolen lyre containing the essence of the God of Music will eventually touch all their lives, threaten everything they hold dear and prove to be far more personal than any of them can imagine.

CaptureTitle: The Lyre Thief

Author: Jennifer Fallon

Pages: 448

Genre: high fantasy, adult fantasy

Publisher: HarperCollins Australia
Link to book here.

Buy: Dymocks, BooktopiaBook Depository

My thoughts

I wasn’t hooked straight away but since this is fantasy (my fave genre) plus this author is Australian (living in New Zealand) I was like: gotta do this book a solid and get to the end. It turned out that I FREAKIN’ LOVED THE ENDING. I had to know what happened to Charisee and Kiam and Broos. My three faves. Rakaia became a fave too, particularly by the end, she flourished and her character was cemented so well.

So lucky I have book twwoooooo, Retribution! I can’t wait to see all the commotion that goes down in that book!!

I bet you’re wondering why I didn’t love the beginning? When I so obviously loved the characters?! Well.

This book is a split perspective narration and some of the characters I wasn’t particularly invested in. I think, if I’d read Fallon’s Medalon trilogy before this one, I would’ve been glued to every page. It’s like Robin Hobb, I think characters from past books came back in this one, which (if I’d read them) would’ve enriched my experience so much.

As it was, the politics and intrigue were enough to keep me thinly interested as I learned the names, gods, and locations as I read. But the second half of the book was DEFINITELY my favourite! It took the politics that we’d previously learned about and threw our characters into it with full force; some of them met, which was the best paaaart.

I am hoping the demon child and Damin are given a more active role in the next book, in this one they were kind of on the sidelines (though it seems like they were mains in the Medalon trilogy, but I could be wrong). I just want to know everything about them. Gimme demons and warriors and the god of Death.

There are also two characters that I desperately want to get together so please read this so we can get obsessed together. I need this to happen. Also there’s a dog, Broos, who’s the floppiest, best thing ever.

Fantasy, politics, intrigue, GODS, and A DOG. What more can you honestly need?! Oh, a stolen lyre. That was pretty important too. I really, really wonder what’ll happen book 2, AH.

Overall I loved the gods aspect, particularly the God of Lies. So good. The politics played an intrinsic part in this book, but it did make the plot not feel as urgent (at least not until the end!). And I definitely had my favourite characters which enriched the pace of the story for me. Their perspectives had me flipping pages very quickly! I can’t wait for book 2, will continue this for sure! I’d definitely recommend this if you’re bored with YA fantasy or you want a bit more of a challenge; this adult high fantasy definitely steps you up.

Rating

4 / 5 stars

Thank you HarperCollins Australia for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

NOW FOR THE GIVEAWAY!

HarperCollins Australia are brilliant and are providing a copy of The Lyre Thief PLUS its sequel Retribution as prizes for an Australian resident to win! Thank you Harper!

You can enter the giveaway here! Win 1 x The Lyre Thief and 1 x Retribution!

It runs from the date of this post (August 7) to the end of August. The winner will be contacted by email, so please ensure you enter your email address correctly.

Thank you & best of luck!

3 thoughts on “The Lyre Thief – Review (spoiler free)

  1. Oz fantasy yes! I’ve never read Fallon but I have her on my TBR and I’ve heard a lot of awesome things. Glad you ended up loving it even if the first POV’s weren’t your fave, I always find it hard with MPOV if I dislike one of the voices esp with fantasy because you cant really skip over them in case you miss a big plot point. Great review Bec and yay giveaway ❤

    1. Yaaaaaay for her being on your TBR! Her writing is fantastic, I am mad at myself for not connecting with some of the POVs at the beginning. Totally my fault, not hers. And yes I know! I am glad I didn’t skip anything, it all came together and was worth it in the end. 😀

Leave a Reply

